A few Steemit house questions

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Full Steem going somewhere

The price of Steem seems to be getting crushed at the moment whereas many other currencies are booming. Since June when it hit 2.50ish, it has been consistently getting pushed downwards and now sits a bit above 1.00. I don't know much about markets and what influences them but I was wondering what is causing this drive downwards. Anyone?

Some people have mentioned how the price of Steem will boom this year and I am wondering what could or would cause this. Is it membership, incoming investment into the platform or just cryptocurrency cyclical luck?

Payouts down?

Next thing, scrolling through my feed I see that pending payouts and voting are down across people that normally are getting much more. The price of Steem is low at 1.11 but that is not so much lower than a few days ago at 1.20. What is causing this, does anybody know? Is there an ongoing experiment or have most of the big voters taken a nap?

Banner, man

I also saw that a banner image is able to be added now. This is good but I still have to work out which would be a decent style. A light background makes the profile text near unreadable. The other thing is that the image has to be suitable for mobile devices also as the mobile device will only use part of the image. The desktop banner is very wide and narrow and the mobile seems to take the central section so the centre of the image should be darker so the white text is readable. I have to experiment a little with this to see what works.

At the moment, the image I have as the banner (above) is a sunset I photographed a few years ago. It has a little bit of everything in it, sun, rain, light, dark, blues, reds, oranges, purples, greens. I think it suits the content of my blog rather well but is not perhaps the best image overall.

A pinned Steemit post

Is it possible for Steemit developers to put a pinned post somewhere that tells what is going on every few days or once a week? Perhaps on the Trending page. I think this will help engage users and allay many worries of people that do not have the time or technical skills to wade through all of the random posts about upcoming changes or problems. It could also be used to answer some broad questions that float through the community over a range of topics.

So many initiatives

It seems there are a lot of initiatives going on too and this is great and hopefully they will develop the platform into a much more robust and useful system. A question though, does every tiny change require a new post or can some of these changes to projects get batched together? It is very difficult to keep track and get a clear picture when trying to build a loaf of bread a crumb at a time. I assume that since these posts are generally among the highly rewarded, this is a deciding factor.

Is there a separate fund for Steemit development that supports worthy initiatives and development projects? If there was, perhaps this would be able to finance some of these things without them always needing to be on the trending page and then monthly updates that report larger progress milestones. I do not know the practicality of this though.

How's things?

And lastly, how is everyone doing in general? Sometimes I know I get so into my writing I am less engaged with the community. I always try to get to every comment I receive but I find it hard lately to travel around and see everyone post by post. I have dropped into steemit.chat from time to time to say hi in the general chat lately. I cannot spend a great deal of time there either but it is nice to interact with some other Steemians.

Hopefully someone can offer some insight or theories on one or two of the questions here and perhaps there are some questions that others have too.

Now, back to writing :)

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Is there an ongoing experiment or have most of the big voters taken a nap?

Well mate, as for reply to just one of your questions.. ¡Yes! I suspect big voters taken a nap!! ;)

And lastly, how is everyone doing in general?

Oh! now, this is in fact, a tempting question to unfold my usual babbling nonsense. }:)

Since you say that you have dropped into steemit.chat from time to time, just tell me under what username I can look for you over there to try establish a person to person private chat session soon. Thing which I suppose is a debt that we both have long pending with each other. ¡Let's make an appointment! ;o)
So that we can chat, in real time, about a couple of interesting and profitable online business models to make use of your hard Steem & SBDs earnings from Finland.

Btw, ¿Do you finally opened your account in Localbitcoins?

¿Did you know Localbitcoins project was born in Finland, based on Helsinki and was created by a bunch of finnish chaps?
Haha, take a look first to this link. And let's see if, meanwhile, I'm able to light you the bulb of your prolific way of thinking with some ideas with which we can start that long-awaited chat session in real time.

There are many more and better ideas that I could offer to you and to which I could also expose you into the chatroom to try obtain fair profits for your money online.
As for example, by trying to trade also with VEF (venezuelan bolivars) within our local market on Localbitcoins. Since due the fact, that according the also high fluctuation of our national venezuelan currency in the black market, your earnings and assets from having €uros, which is a fiat currency of much much higher value in our internal local market. I bet that with barely a modest investment with an appropriate handful of satoshis or BTCs bought with euros, your earnings could even be more profitable and attractive by participating and trading VEFs in our internal Vzlan marketplace.

¿What would you say dear friend? ¿Have we an appointment?

¡Upvoted & Resteemed! Cheers!! :)

"Is there a Steemit development that supports worthy initiatives and development projects?"

  • Yes, people can pitch their ideas using tag that I don't remember right now. That's how SteemPark was funded.

"Next thing, scrolling through my feed I see that pending payouts and voting are down across people that normally are getting much more."

Hopefully this means the votes are more spread out. When Steem prices spike fast articled tend to get way too high rewards just because whales are too lazy to change their voting behavior (bot voting list).

"I don't know much about markets and what influences them but I was wondering what is causing this drive downwards. Anyone?"

Markets tend to work in cycles. Coins will pump fast and then slowly descend. People will move on to next hot thing and then come back when bigger players have accumulated big enough of stake to make pump worthwhile.

Also Steemit has kind of bad image due to early mining scheme where majority of coins were distributed to few users. And Steemit is working on backend things which don't really gather interest from outside world. This will hopefully change when we'll start seeing communities implemented. Though we are starting to finally reach bottom of price at least in daily timeframe and Steem coin will be seen as good option to pump soon enough as attention is elsewhere and it can be bought cheaply.

Thanks for the detail :)

I don't think that the votes are more spread, I think they are missing but I don't know.

I collected Steem much too early....

Missing? The amount of rewards will stay the same even if only user would vote only once on the whole platform. The Asia side of Steemit seems to be growing fast, maybe the rewards are going there.

Many are in the same boat with you mate!

Have you seen Dtube.video yet? It's built by @heimindanger using Steem and users can upload their videos to IPFS-network that is decentralized datastorage. Pretty cool.

I have seen a few posts using it but haven't used it myself yet. I am not a video person unfortunately. My animation skills suck and I have a pretty good face for Radio.

Talking about Asia, How does the pool grow when new members come in or is it just spread thinner?

Well, I think the reward pool always gives out certain amount of Steem normally but the price of Steem changes so that changes the dollar amounts we see on the site. I'm not even 60% sure about this however.

Yes, but it's one more place to use your Steem Power and that's good. We finally have alternative to Youtube - Instagram and Twitter is still coming.

And it's spread thinner, the dollar amount given out will grow with the price rise of Steem. That's how I think it works.

Thanks for the info however sketchy and not mentioning my radio face. ;)

Why is steem crashing? Possibly with BCH taking huge volumes people are dropping steem and other alts to get onto BCH.

The worst case scenario is not some external factor but outright the platform itself. People have been expressing problems with spam, problems with self voting, these things effect the value people place in this platform. Dealing with this means showing the community that such things are discouraged.

But the most inconsequential and probably the largest problem is that sadly the entrance into the platform is IOU notes (fed reserve notes) > Bitcoin >Steem. I think with time the more people adopt steem the more we will depend on the external and the largest influence.

The value an IOU note brings in terms of how many "digital assets" it's vouch-able for is completely up to the people who control IOU notes and enforce their exclusive use.

Looking at other coins though, they are equally dropping so that it's probably because people are moving into BCH, but the point is that if the IOU notes can be abused wanton by the PTB, the stability that should follow in a world market is at the whims of the issuers of IOU's globally, if we are in their grace we should just expect that inflation will continue, if not expect a crash where massive amounts of wealth are to be moved around, amounting to numbers on ledgers. . .

Yes, the problem with Steem, as the problem with just about everything financial is that this is at most Social Media from the Underground Slaves. We are all equally shackled by the lack of actual money (a unit of value, it intrinsically cannot have value in it of itself, it's a measure, a division, an abstraction, of wealth, value, price, which themselves are subjective, are situational abstractions), and the fact that there are others, if not yourself, still in "debt" to the PTB and their "financial institutions", or outright bought and paid for people.

The "big voters" taking a nap would be great, yet that is hardly the case. Rewards aren't created by the voting power of those that vote, they are created in relation to how much steem power is in the system. If big voters don't vote then the rewards don't evaporate, indeed it would be the other way around, as more small accounts would power up it would drive up the rewards, their incentive is simply seeing their votes be that much more since the big voters aren't taking most of the shares of the reward pool distribution..

This is likened to growing pains, but then again I'm not complaining about rewards, for me the place is valuable in it of itself for the information and knowledge shared.

Interesting thanks. I will look into some of the things you brought up :)

A pinned Steemit post

This is brilliant. Drop Hot or Trending and create a Steemit News Tab or something that is only updated by developers/witnesses. I would love to see something like this!

Oh yeah, I'm doing just peachy :)

Every time I'm online and thinking about this platform, I'm trying to decide how to best spend the time I have available for this. I'm either posting about something I enjoy, Posting about my travels, or trying to do some Analysis using SteemSQL to figure out how to make Steemit a better place, and a place that everyone will want to join (as opposed to all of these bots who love to join and deter new users).

Cheers :)

I think it would help across a few areas, including leaving a little extra in the daily pool.

Are you playing Pirates?

LOL - I'm always playing pirates - just not on Steemit :)

I deny any knowledge of what that is.

I only download about 200gb of "illegal" content a month..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82