A delegation progress report: Week 1

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

It has been about a week since I bought some delegation to increase my voting power. I am not great with numbers and there are already plenty of posts talking about maximising returns and whatnot so instead, I am going to focus on my experiences.

Firstly, I have been largely against paid delegation as I think that there is too much room for misuse yet, felt that it is ridiculous for me to condemn it without trying it. My thinking is that if I cannot get it to work (pay off the rent and still maintain quality standards) many others will struggle.

I said that in the first week, I will see how it goes by maintaining as close to normal behaviour as possible and I think that I have managed to keep relatively true to that except for my voting on others which I will get to later.

I have been posting around 15-20 posts a week in the last few months but can easily go to 25-35 if needs be without too much drop in the range. This means no spam, no shitposts, no self-voting comments. Currently I have 19 open posts. I self-vote my own posts at around the 30 minute mark at 100 percent. This is around 20 full votes go to myself out of the allocated 70 per week.

My vote was around 70 cents prior and currently at about 2.70 with delegation. For me it is hard to track precisely because of the market fluctuations. I am yet to experience a 100% vote at 100% power because, I haven't come close to it yet. I find it hard to get above 85% voting power.

From a curation perspective, prior to delegation a good day was around 2.5 SP and today it is abut 8 SP. If that is the 'norm' that means it is about 56 SP a week, a little over half of the costs and with 19 posts, getting about 2 SP each, I will just cover the rent. So, this indicates it is possible to break even but, I posted 19 articles averaging around 1000 words each.

I am unsure how many people are able to produce content at the rate I do while still maintaining some value that other voters would vote upon. This is not bragging, I am trying to be objective (hard with own work) and base it on the engagement I get. Including the time it takes to reply to comments, the personal investment is high. For me to 'make profit' I would have to post more, which is possible but, also bites further into my already thin time.

But, this wasn't about making profit from this for me, as even if I only Spam post, the votes I lose from real voters would be more than I gain by self-voting. This is an issue with delegation as many of those who take delegation are doing it for profit and the profit made from shitposting is much more than they can get from their normal content. I was fortunate enough to already have a clientele base who support me, for which I am very grateful.

This didn't come easily though and I have worked extremely hard to get to this point, but if I had had this delegation to begin with, perhaps my incentive to do all the work would not have been there. This is perhaps the major problem with delegation, in the wrong hands, it disincentivises content providers by giving them easy return by rewarding their own low quality but, it also lowers their potential ceiling as their content is not engaging.

This in turn lowers their engagement and willingness to interact in the community as all they must do for a return is to post anything and self-vote. Why would they stay and try to build the community, why would they share their votes to others?

Which brings me to the core reason I took delegation in the first place, the community. I started to feel that if I didn't take the delegation, someone who would spam and run may and more importantly, it gave me an opportunity to build in a way I haven't been able to before.

I have been voting on @ocd posts for the last month or so which has helped my curation returns grow significantly as @acidyo and his trail vote after a period of time. I encourage all voters, especially the smaller (vote early), to follow and vote on the manually curated content they deliver each day from their 30 or 40 human curators. I encourage the larger to help out and close the gaps by voting a bit larger and later, which gives @ocd the chance to spread even wider in the future. I continued voting this way this week to see what happens. I do not give full votes there but this is a big part of why my VP stays so low.

But, this wasn't all. I have been able to reward comments with the same percentages (I voteup nearly every comment) but provide significantly more return for them. In most cases, the return from the comment will outweigh the return they get from their voting curation. I have always seen voting the comments as a symbolic gesture but now it has a little more weight and incentive. I am fortunate, I get a fair number of thoughtful responses (Sorry if my replies are less so) and I think they deserve to get something from it. If I had ten times the VP, I would still do this although maybe not at the same percentage. Good comments mean something and have value to me, so I treat them as valuable when I can.

But, i have also been able to support other people more heavily too. Some that I have always supported and I think have always deserved more than they get, as well as some new ones that I have come across or have failed to pay attention to before. I have been able to spread some votes wider which means, value wider to people I think are either long-term creators or could be in the future.

I have been able to add some to people I follow but rarely vote upon because I didn't have the VP but now, I feel that giving people 10% votes makes a noticeable difference to their payouts at the end of the week. Sure, it might only be a few SP extra but, I see that Steem has potential so that few SP a week in a year from now, may be a very welcome sight in their wallets.

One very big thing I would like to mention is that I feel more part of the community and more responsible for it. I know it is relatively insignificant but, it is worth mentioning as I can 'somewhat' imagine those with high investments and voting power and why they feel they way they do. All of them have different approaches and very few are going to satisfy all parties on the platform. Even though paying, I am grateful for the opportunity to try this on for a little while.

So far, my experience tells me that I am able to manage a higher Voting power without degrading my behaviours (it has only been a week) but I am skeptical if someone new to the platform or with less than generous attitudes would do the same. This is not because I think myself better, but I have seen some terrible uses of delegation recently from people who should perhaps never have had access but, this is the blockchain and freedom reigns.

This was meant to be much, much shorter so I will finish it here and if I have missed something you would like to know, comment below and I will answer there or in the next report update.

Now, I have other content to write and people to vote upon. :)

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

So far, my experience tells me that I am able to manage a higher Voting power without degrading my behaviors...

If the question has arisen in your mind (I see you on this platform with more integrity, diligence, and intelligence than most, btw), then I fear 'degradation' of behavior's may well be a natural course of events.

Or rather a direction the majority of individuals would take.

A weakness in the systems basic structures?

Whether this is important to the ' higher up's ' in the food chain, is another question...

Your last vote on my latest post lifted my spirits, so from that point of view you're making a positive impact.

I find it interesting that you believe having high Steem power and upvoting your own posts will lead to corruption in your writing. I'm sure that's true for many people, but not all of us.

I had a friend who's father was a Baptist minister. He was a devout Christian. We were good friends and he was open to other opinions. When I told him I was at best an agnostic, he told me that if he wasn't bound by Christian morality he'd go berserk, breaking commandments right and left, indulging himself until he died from it.

For me things like the 10 commandments, the eight-fold noble path and other social rules that allow us to live together peaceably seem like common sense. I slip up sometimes, like most people do, but I don't "run berserk."

I'm that way with my writing too. I have stuff to say and I try to say it in the most interesting and legible way I can. I really don't think I'd shit-post even if I could upvote my post $100. I suppose everyone has their price, but mine would be in the "if I can get away with this for a week and retire," range. Not gonna happen! :)

I believe your sincerity will carry you through. Honesty is the best policy and I think if you keep on the path you're on, I can see a Lambo in your future. Lol.

Hey, I’m just started with Steemit but I find Your post worth a lot of value.

How the compleet machanics of the system works, can I not see completele. But your value to my is already enough. With other worts, don’t by to hard for yourself.

Glad to have you aboard.
I wrote a basic explanation here, but there's heaps to learn.
Stick with it, you'll do great.

I have addid your explanation to my reading list.

I appreciate what you're doing here AND that you are sharing your experiences. Thank you for that.

With all the chatter about voting bots and delegation and shitposts and what's happening to the community, I had seriously considered renting 100K SP almost as a "defensive" move... that is, if I hold that SP and use it "appropriately" (to manually curate and reward good content and highlight promising newcomers) at least it wouldn't be in the hands of some spammer/shitposter. Which ended up feeling annoying, in a way... a bit like buying a million acres of rainforest simply so some other idiot doesn't cut it down.

But then, maybe that IS what is needed... I don't know. SOMEthing is needed.

On the other hand-- and you're confirming some of that-- I am coming back to the idea of community. My enjoyment of Steemit is really more about community and being part of growing this brave social experiment than it is about just trying to "milk the cash cow." The rewards are certainly NICE... but... I'm more interested in preserving the community than profiting from it, at least right now...

I had seriously considered renting 100K SP almost as a "defensive" move...

There are considerations to do this on a large scale but it is very difficult and way out of my price range.

When it comes to community, what will be left if it is self-voted whales and spammers?

If I am following correctly, you are earning about the same 'profit' with or without the rented VP. The difference is you now MUST write/post in order to cover the rental. Did I understand correctly?

Yes, I do not think that I could earn enough back through curation alone to cover the rent and the deal I have is cheap. This is why unless one is posting 2 or 3 times a day, they will have a hard time covering the costs.

As you know for me, this isn't an issue but for many, posting weekly seems a challenge so if they must post a couple times daily, how do they manage? For those renting large amounts and vote selling, the sale price covers this gap but they can sell to anyone., including spammers and plagiarists. there is no incentive for them to find good content either and build community.

Yes great points.
While I sit here and write my AuthorBOT (it searches the net for a news item & writes a perfect grammatically correct post, 3-4x per day ) and my CommentBOT app will reply with perfect AI., you would think it is human! They will work well with the VoteBOT's,
But I do wonder about the SOCIAL part of human interaction.
But if the bots are writing, commenting, and voting for us I guess we can all go to the beach.?

Aye, and there's the rub.

sharing your experience will be an eye opener for many. I will like to see how it pans out at the end of your delegation period. I am still new but this might be something to consider in the nearest future. Keep us updated.

This is very interesting. The part that I'm really taking away from it is the fact that you claim to be able to cover the rent which I'm thinking means break even. If I can break even..... or even come close to breaking even then I would be very interesting in getting some delegation. I always like to reward my followers and as it stands my SP is 8500 or so. With 25000 so you could certainly do a lot of good work.

It is after 6 am (I work very late at this) so won't write too much but, to break even I think it requires a blend of self-voting on content and curating good content. I am happy to vote on my articles as I consider them somewhat worthy enough and I mentioned @ocd because every day they give me about 10 manually curated articles + the people I follow.

The cost of the delegation is also a factor to be considered.

If you have more questions, I will get to them later :)

I like your posts, the fiction ones. They deserve all the upvotes including the ones from your new leased power.I was always curious to understand how or whether you can break even, so thank you for including that part.
Maybe you could now upvote some of my fiction posts Hahaha:)

I don't know your specific numbers, but I am glad you feel more control.

It is definitely nice and you yourself may have noticed me dropping by more. I can't always comment but I can add a little at least :)

I’d be interested to see how this works out! I’m still skeptical that renting delegation would be worth it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62302.26
ETH 2994.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96