The silent killer: Post Natal Depression (SHARE TO CREATE AWARENESS)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The ugly, but honest truth of Post Natal Depression, the silent killer for moms and dads.

I don't know if writing this is going to help me, but I hope this helps any mom of dad who thinks they have Post Natal Depression to seek some help. Yes, dad's can also get diagnosed.

When I am suppose to enjoy my little bundle of "joy" like everyone calls a brand new baby it feels like I am drowning. Like there is a dark cloud hanging around my every move. I don't have any joy in taking care of her, or any of my other two children. I came to the shocking realization when I scared myself.

I was busy putting my two eldest to bed while my husband was looking after our youngest. They just couldn't calm down and get to bed. I was struggling , to say the least, with them when I just snapped. I almost broke my hand hitting the table next to my daughter's bed. BUT when when I took my hands and want to shake her so hard that she can just stop and calm down. I STOPPED. I turned around and walked away. That was when I realized there is something massively wrong with me. I am a very proud and private person, so writing this is a very big step, so you can think that I couldn't just get on the phone and call anyone who knows the symptoms. So I got on the internet and began to read and do proper research.

But how do you know when you have Post Natal Depression?
I never thought I had it, especially after I already had two children and I live in a family where being weak is just not an option, but now I am wondering if I haven't had it since the birth of my eldest.But since reading up on the signs and symptoms of Post Natal Depression I am truly wondering.

According to Mayo Clinic these are the possible signs and symptoms of Post Natal Depression:
• Depressed mood or severe mood swings
• Excessive crying
• Difficulty bonding with your baby
• Withdrawing from family and friends
• Loss of appetite or eating much more than usual
• Inability to sleep (insomnia) or sleeping too much
• Overwhelming fatigue or loss of energy
• Reduced interest and pleasure in activities you used to enjoy
• Intense irritability and anger
• Fear that you're not a good mother
• Feelings of worthlessness, shame, guilt or inadequacy
• Diminished ability to think clearly, concentrate or make decisions
• Severe anxiety and panic attacks
• Thoughts of harming yourself or your baby
• Recurrent thoughts of death or suicide
http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/postpartum-depression/basics/symptoms/con-20029130

When reading through the above symptoms I saw myself in a lot of them, but not for the last 6 weeks, but I suddenly realized for the last four years I have had most of these symptoms:
• Depressed mood or severe mood swings
• Excessive crying
• Difficulty bonding with your baby
• Withdrawing from family and friends
• Loss of appetite or eating much more than usual
• Inability to sleep (insomnia) or sleeping too much
• Overwhelming fatigue or loss of energy
• Reduced interest and pleasure in activities you used to enjoy
• Intense irritability and anger
• Fear that you're not a good mother
• Feelings of worthlessness, shame, guilt or inadequacy
• Diminished ability to think clearly, concentrate or make decisions
• Thoughts of harming yourself or your baby

I am worried, but when seeing the statistics by www.panda.org.au I know I am not alone.

I now know that I am not alone. That there are others, men and women struggling with PND.


What happens from when you realized you have a problem:
*Go see a professional.
*If needed they will prescribe anti-depressants. (Sometimes for more than three years)
*You will need to see a counselor.

I know that there are a lot of families like mine where this is a TABOO topic, but rather take care of it than let it "take care of you"

So tomorrow I am off to our doctor to get the help I need, I hope you will do the same.

ASK FOR HELP - TALK ABOUT HOW YOU FEEL - DON'T RUN AWAY- YOU ARE NOT ALONE

Resteem,comment and upvote that we can create awareness.
Steemit caption.png

Sort:  

interesting post. keep writing more.

Thank you for sharing your story!
And thank you for making it known that men / fathers can also suffer too!

I think we constantly forget that men/fathers can also suffer due to them having to be the solid foundation, the rocks in the households.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44