Bitcoin's Answer to Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

As a supporter of both Bitcoin and Steemit, I'm a bit divided on this issue.

According to a recent article, a new social network is emerging that pays its content creators and curators, much like Steemit does.

This new project is called "Yours" and it claims to do all the same stuff as Steemit, except with Bitcoin.

As a Bitcoin enthusiast, I probably would have been all in favor of this idea, if I had found it before I discovered Steemit.

But now, I have a few concerns.

  1. How will the Yours network compare to Steemit? Can it provide payouts as big as Steemit's to any posts?
  2. Won't it need an immense mining undergirth in order to guarantee payouts, assuming those payouts are as big as Steemit's?
  3. If it can't make these guarantees, then how does it expect to compete with existing technologies?
  4. "Yours" claims that it differs from other social networks because, in their case, the authors retain ownership of their content. Does Steemit not do that?

And that last point is particularly troubling to me. I don't know if Steemit claims ownership of authors' content. I guess I need to take another look at the user's agreement, perhaps?

But in any case, I have trouble seeing the point of the Yours network. Bitcoin is great at a lot of things, and it will always be able to things that Steem can never do. But Steem is a currency that was specifically created to work for a curated social network. I don't think Bitcoin can operate in that sphere nearly as well as a currency native to that technology.

But I'm not the expert on these matters. What do you think? Let me know in the comments.

Sort:  

Honestly I think that's already getting off to a bad start. They will never be able to reward users in Bitcoin like steemit can.

It certainly looks that way.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.7 and reading ease of 80%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

To me, it comes down to the technology. Steemit's tech is amazing with 3 second blocks, 100k transactions a second, and (most importantly) being built from the ground up as a social media blockchain. I'd be very surprised if anything else could catch up at this point.

Steemit certainly has the first move advantage in this arena. Much like Bitcoin has the first move advantage in general-use cryptocurrencies.

The problem withSteemit is that pay to much for a single post, and really nothing to 99,9% of the community. And in my opinion this imbalance will persist for at least two years more because the way steem power is distributed.
Steemit created a really good idea with a lot distribution imperfections. So, if you take a strong crypto currency as Bitcoin and make an small evolution to make more fair the rewards to content creators, then you have a mankind type of change. The contents creators does not want thousands of dollars for one single post on their life, they prefer tenths of dollars for each post.
A exact copy of Steemit using Bitcoin is very difficult because of the micro payment problems related with the fees of the miners transactions, but if you make payments with the complete rewards, for example once a month, this problem do not exist.
Steemit is in the first step of this new kind of social networks and the future has to be written.
The most important thing in a big network is not to hear the shout of the most influential and steem powered but the noise of the masses that represent the network indeed...

Well, I would be lying if I said I didn't have my issues with Steemit.

Still, it has a lot of smart people working on it. I think a lot of the wrinkles are going to get ironed out.

Steem---это что то новое и со временем он перегонит биткойн

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46