You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some Thoughts on Plagiarism and Steemit's Future

in #steemit7 years ago

Legal issue is only one aspect of the bigger problem. It is also very discouraging when you see stolen photo or just little modified one and that post has like 30 votes and 100$ in money. People trying hard to post something original earning some cents for their work on the other side.
There should be some kind of code that will prevent you from posting exactly something that is already available on web (image or text). But how will you code whales and different groups to actually reward good content and not only friends. That is even bigger issue to me.

Sort:  

You are absolutely right on this. The discouragement to honest authors is another bad result of plagiarism.

Personally, I don't see Steemit as a way to make a living in the future. I enjoy writing about certain topics and I enjoy taking pictures. So far, I've experienced Steemit as a great community, where I get some feedback every now and then, and I get inspired by very talented bloggers. Also, there is a big overlap of my interests and popular topics on Steemit.

I will not be discouraged to keep on posting things I find interesting, but I would find it very annoying, if Steemit eventually turned into a copy cat community with a lower percentage of innovative and original posts.

The legal issues, however, would be an ultimate problem, as I see no way, how a portal like Steemit could ignore a court's order to remove content that violates copyrights.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43