You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem with One-Sided Conversations

in #steemit8 years ago

Ironically I couldn't read through all the comments, do I'm not sure if this has been said.

I think part of the "hey look at me" without any other interaction is partly due to the feed going active. The more integrated or established steemit users are first searching/ voting their stream first and/or becoming pickier with votes. This then pushes the new users into chat, who are still in that learning phase where they only think of marketing and not networking.

I'll admit i was guilty of this too. Last week or so i made a conscious effort to be able to spend more time commenting on others posts. It's good to be a consumer sometimes :)
I hope to get a chance to get back to that tomorrow. My last couple days were filled with responding to comments.

Anyhoo, sleep time! :)

Sort:  

Hey @sykochica thanks for leaving your thoughts, I really appreciate you taking the time! Your response to comments is my kind of call to action on this post, so that's already a win, in my opinion.

It's very disheartening when you think about the pickiness in terms of voting. Makes you think that some users don't get a fair shot at scoring big. Personally, I feel shortchanged with the voting aspect, but I feel that the interaction aspect is the more important part. This post may not have earned as much, but hopefully, the interaction I've done in this post gives motivation enough for people to comment on future posts. I mean, would they rather comment on famous people who don't even acknowledge their comments or on an unknown who appreciates their thoughts and replies to every comment they leave? That, I guess, is a question of character, and something that remains to be seen.

Out of all the votes, there were only a fraction who left a comment, so that makes me think that a lot of people missed the point of the post. While I appreciate the vote, it feels a bit hollow if you consider that the vote was made blindly. I still feel like I'm missing something that's obvious for a lot of people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43