Let's Hear About the Nice Things that have been Done Lately

in #steemit8 years ago


Source

There are countless 'Random Acts of Kindness' which are both meaningful and impactful to the giver and receiver, yet often get drowned out among the sea of other posts. It's so easy to forget we're all a part of the Steemit community and the Earth itself when issues arise, sides get taken, sometimes people getting offended. I'm not saying to stop being opinionated, but I think a little break could be useful.

These don't have to be huge world changing things. For example I been trying to be in general chat a bit more, answer questions new users have as best I can, and try to provide continued support and motivation for those that are sincerely trying hard. This isn't much, I don't expect praise for this. I solely do this because I want to.


Source

But I've been on the receiving end of such random acts of kindness by @knozaki2015, @arcurus, @hr1, the #payitforward and #minnowsunite groups just to name a few. These groups and users take their time and efforts to help the new people/minnows, etc. whether it being creating sites, hashtags, chatrooms, giving motivation, to donations of SD. (Don't interpret this to beg for SD.) To me even whales that do manual curation should be praised for their personalized time and effort. Unexpected support such as this motivates me (and I assume others) to do what things that can be a help others.

Personally I want to see positive, pay it forward, inspiring stories more on the trending pages. Because these people, acts and efforts are drowned out behind other concerns and slip through the cracks.


Source

So fellow Steemians, what I want to hear from you is this:

What acts of kindness have you recently done that helped or inspired someone else?


No matter how small, on Steemit or in real life, on the job or off, doesn't matter. I want to hear the GOOD things people do.

What acts of kindness have been recently been bestowed upon you from another?

Let's give a big shout out those those out there Paying It Forward!

Sort:  

I haven't done any big things. The last thing I am glad that I did is the steemitartchallenge. I was happy when other people enjoyed the prizes. As for me, it always brings a smile on my face when people say they enjoy my work.

I saw that contest! It's especially fun when you get the interaction like you did. That was a great contest!
I know I saw @winstonwolfe 's face when he was telling me about his robot in one of your earlier pieces. I wish I had taken a picture to show you :P

I can relate. I did a small contest too, was really fun. Sending out the prizes felt great :)

Contest are fun! Just wish more people will get involved.

Yea, I hear ya there.
I'd expect more entries as the site gets bigger. We shall see :)

It's so easy to forget we're all a part of the Steemit community and the Earth itself when issues arise, sides get taken, sometimes people getting offended. I'm not saying to stop being opinionated, but I think a little break could be useful.

I recall you saying you've been off the interwebs forums for a while (2005?), but steemit has the most agreeable and civil discourse of any forum I've been on. I think dissenting opinions are great and love when I see people disagree on here rather than throw empty praise at a whale author.

I've missed the pay it forward movement, what is it? And yes I agree, it's time to start being more selfless, not just on here, but in life. Appreciate all the effort you put into commenting on other people's threads and helping newer users @sykochica :)

Yea, I pretty much gave up on online discourse about 10 years ago. Some of it was the completely unhelpful comments, others just had other interest and while reading, didn't have things to add (which is understandable.) I just felt I wasn't getting what I was looking for so the motivation was lost.

Then I started on steemit a month or so ago and haven't shut up since. Rofl! I really like it here, the users are REAL, the discussion is REAL (even if I disagree, there's logic I can usually follow behind what is said.) Personally I feel the human connection that it commonly lost else where (in my opinion.) Simply putting up a facade doesn't cut it here.

@williambanks started the Pay it Forward group/hashtag. Since I feel I can't give it full justice in a reply, here is the link to the post that launched it.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@williambanks/pay-it-forward-a-better-way-to-enjoy-steemit-and-find-great-content

Even a single act of kindness can make a huge difference. I also think it is probably the most satisfying thing you can do because it makes both you and the person you help feel better.
Thanks for drawing attention to this. I think the tendency for us as human beings and society is to concentrate on the negative - that gives us a skewed impression of human nature.

Absolutely!
I felt everybody, myself included, could use something like this today :)

Past month I loaned a friend $9k, loaned my little sister $7k, covered a third friend on $14k to keep their home out of foreclosure, held a door open for at least one person every day, saved a turtle crossing the road, rescued approx 4 baby lizards off my car, gave someone my Netflix password, let someone use my steam account to play Rocksmith and gave him a box of picks, gave my dogs a standing rib roast split four ways... That's about all that comes to mind

Wait, also loaned my truck to someone for a week,

Wow! This honestly made me smile and tear up a bit while reading it. This is just awesome!

And I bet those were some happy doggies! :)

I just want say nice posting, mostly I agree with opinion about kindness. Nice ... keep going on :)

Thank you!
And I will watch for your next posts! :)

Things I've done since reading this thread, in no particular order:
-spam my links in steemit.chat and other people's posts without paying it forward
-upvoted 0 threads
-flagged people who posted content with tags that I used in my blogs
-started a bot operation to upvote all my threads
-hurled insults at women on this platform for looking too rapeable
-ate the last hors d'oeuvre at a party
-told my friend's kids there is no santa claus
-condescendingly told my friends there is no god
-stole an elderly woman's purse
-punched a baby
-didn't pick up my dog's poop on our walk

Am I on the right track?

Haha! I've seen that guy! :P

refreshing! world needs more of it

Thank you! I totally agree. :)

Love this idea Syk :)

Thank you!
After running across a post talking about @smooth 'giving away' curation awards to others, it got me thinking. I wish I could track the post down, but have been unable thus far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74