How the upvote system works ? - Beginner's Guide

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello guys welcome to the Steemit Family !!!! As beginners you guys might be wondering as to how the Upvote System works and how you are paid. In this post you will find your answers to some of the following questions which everyone has as a beginner.

1. Why do I get paid for upvotes ?
2. I just have 20-30 Upvotes I've earned 80$ already. How?
3. I have 50 Upvotes yet I haven't earned 10$ yet. Why?
4. Should I upvote myself?
5. Should I upvote each and every post?

dkdkdud.jpg

Before starting you guys need to understand steemit and how it pays you. I will explain more about Steemit and how it generates money in my next post. But, by now you guys already know that Steemit is a Social platform working on blockchain technology and you get paid for posting quality contents.

But, the question is how you get paid for posting and steemit earns? So, my simple answer is for steemit to exist it needs some quality content otherwise its existence is gone. So, steemit is paying you guys who are posting good stuffs to help it survive in the internet and maintain its value.

Now to understand Upvote System here are the things you need to know.

What is Upvote?

Upvote is a very simple to understand as you can take it as Likes on Facebook. If someone upvotes your post then the user likes your post.

Types of Users

Now before we move further you need to understand there are three types of users on steemit. Minnows, Dolphins and Whales. In short Minnows are people who have just joined Steemit. Minnows are small fish in the sea they are not strong enough to make an impact.

Dolphins are the medium level users who have been on steemit for a while. Dolphins are more powerful than minnows. Now, Whales are the most powerful people on Steemit. They have the power to make a post trending. And their power is determined by their Steem Power.

The power of Upvote

Now that you know the types of users you need to understand the power of upvote. To earn some money from your content you must get good number of upvotes. But, the type of upvote you got determines how much money you are going to get on your post.

An upvote from minnow isn't going to do too much. You will barely get 1 cent from an upvote from a minnow. If you get upvote from a dolphin you will see some good money something around 1$-9$. But if you get an Upvote from a Whale my friend you just hit a jackpot.

Whales are very powerful and an upvote from whale will give you higher than $10 depending on their power. Not just that your post might reach out to more people to see and can go as Trending Post if you are lucky. So, the more the whales the more the money.

How to get more upvotes?

Now you know that upvote is directly proportional to money you need more upvotes to get more money. There are many techniques that people follow to get upvotes. Some of the common practice are you can go to Steemit Chat, create an account and share your post on #postpromotion room. You can join groups on Facebook and share your post or tweet out your post on twitter.

However, I suggest you to spend your time to generate a quality post. A post good enough for Whales to think that your post must be seen by the world. Because we now know that the Quantity of Upvote doesn't matter but the Quality of Upvote does.

Your role in Upvote

Now that you know the basics about upvotes and other things. Don't go out there and upvote each and every post. Give your upvote a value and respect it. Make the upvote system fair and upvote people who actually spend their on creating something good and make this platform survive.

We want people in the future to think Steemit as a place which is existing because of all the quality contents it has and the respect it has for the quality content makers. Once again

" Welcome to the Family !! Let's make it a big one but a good one "

I hope you guys loved the post and I hope the post helped you. I will be posting more guides for beginners along with my awesome posts. So, guys follow me if you want to read more from me.
samna.png

Sort:  

Great Post.. It really helped...

Thanks Rozen...

Nice post dear,keep it up :)

Thank you so much...

Welcome,keep writing such good content

nice post though.. keep it up :)

Congratulations! You've been resteemed by my Cat-Bot because you posted in one of the followed categories (#steemit)!

If you're interested in this category, you should consider following this bot to see what other posts it finds!

Since this is still in Beta mode, I'm afraid the unsubscribe is manual... so I may be a bit slow, but just reply to this post with STOP and I will (sadly) leave you and your future posts alone. (I really don't want to spam people, I promise)

This community needs a solid stream of great content like yours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53