You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sharing Copyrighted Video Material on DTube Could Put Steemit's Future At Risk and Devalue STEEM.. My Thoughts - Having Worked In This Arena For a Decade.

in #steemit6 years ago

Someone presented the question; "Is it infringement to share a Taylor Swift video here?" What's the census? What's your advice? Should I discontinue sharing artist links whose music I enjoy on Steemit?

Sort:  

The issue is where the material is hosted and who uploaded it there. If you find a video on Youtube then their systems should have analysed it and handled the copyright situation for you. So you are fine to post youtube video links here (and maybe other video sites too).
If you upload a video to DTube or some other video sites that don't check copyright - then you could find that you have breached copyright rules if you don't own the copyright for the material.

I agree with that 100% and in debate where conversation took place I felt the same would be rendered judgment. With this cleared up it's nice to know that I can share Taylor Swift, get an upvote, and not be in violation. I also felt that D.Tube upload in the way you've stated would be a potential infraction where use of copyrighted song materials without permissions could result in alerts. The conversation addressed the YouTube ContentID API. As a music producer, my iTunes and Spotify are links I want to promote. I use D.Tube to add content that is copyrighted. I have full permissions because I independently own the content. However, none of the videos have asked me for claims to furnish to D.Tube in consideration for royalty earning should any be deemed collectable from D.Tube. The content I have created is lyric videos like this one Love Is Ours https://steemit.com/music/@sutter/d68jm6uj. The song itself if it were placed on YouTube would result in copyrighted material and not allow for monetization without claim to property ownership. The array of processes that take place include that should no claim be made the content's monetization is collected by the distribution corporation as well as ASCAP or BMI. In my case BMI. Whereby, my uploads and upvote monetization are the additional award sought to make the endeavor lucrative as possible. I'm considering UUNIO because the IO offers claim in extended period to earn reward for content. In consideration to infringement you've lightened the load of my fears. I would never want to profit illegal from others music. In consideration to my own music on D.Tube has ContentID application similar to YouTube been on the drafting computer for @DTube? Does my content on DTube fail to reach the search parameters because it contains copyrighted materials? Is there an appropriate way to file ownership or permission claim when uploading content containing my published music content? Your reply is helpful. I do appreciate you taking the time to answer these questions. @ura-soul kind soul!

Yours truly,

@sutter

@iunit your question is answered here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34