Hello Steemit! I want to tell you What I'm Not!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


Hello SteemIt! As I read posts and commentary on different news sites, it seems we live in a society that defines everybody with a label, as if one label could identify a whole person, as if one label could encompass a person's values. Our media and society labels people in an effort to figure out who to judge, despise, alienate. I want to clarify which labels apply to me and which labels don't.

I'm a woman; I'm not a raging feminist.

I'm a teacher; I'm not a liberal.

I'm a Republican; I'm not a racist.

I'm an internet marketer; I'm not a scam artist.

I'm a Christian; I'm not a hater of Muslims.

I'm straight; I'm not homophobic.

I'm full of ideas, opinions, and values that don't fit the stereotypes people seem to argue with when commenting on most articles these days. I constantly see posts that argue by saying, "That's because you are a stupid (insert label here). Let's argue ideas instead of labeling people. It's just ignorant and frustrating. I believe we are better than that as human beings, and we owe it to our children to model different behavior. Let's talk about ideas, and yes disagree, but let's do it with respect for other people. This is who I am and this is my hope for posts and commentary on SteemIt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58981.94
ETH 3097.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38