4 Simple Techniques That Will Instant Help You Understand Everything About Steemit Even If You Were 99!!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

 

Here on steemit, it has a stayed essential that this entire course study be explainable in the most simple terms. This is not only for the newbies on steemit but for the possibility of a countless number of people, who may love to join steemit.

 For instance, where is my conviction in inviting friends and family to steemit, if I don't know how to explain steemit well enough to them, in the simplest way and I mean 'Richard Feynman style'. Feynman applied a method that simplifies the process of learning, even the most complex concepts. 


Coincidentally, his methods are basic things that we we may have applied as well, while growing up and even till now!

How did i read for exams when I was much younger?

 My methods kept evolving! When I was in primary school for instance, reading was more of memorizing! I didn't really understand the concepts but could memorize books, line by line; however, things continued to change!


 In high school, you start to grow and realize the need for understanding things and most of all; understanding fully, the fundamentals! Fully memorizing books now, no longer worked well enough as subjects we're more complex and too many more stuff or words to memorize. Thus, real study started to take effect.

 So, I would now have to read the same topics night and day, to make it stick! Some teachers were just talented and had teaching methods that worked. For majority of the teachers though, teaching subjects like chemistry, physics, was a routine that involved, telling us what was in the textbooks verbatim and then loads of assignment.

 As a result of this, we would evolve on our and start to develop our ways of learning these more complex subjects. (Too, know the 9 planets, we'll develop a song and sing it. To remember facets of the periodic table too, we'll develop some rap or something).

 
We found our way somehow! 


We'll form a group and quiz ourselves and the competition, brought forth the best in us!

 Overtime, our ways of learning continued to evolve. We started to find out what worked and what didn't. My method of study started to become similar to Richard Feynman overtime.(Richard could explain even the most complex scientific terms to a layman because he understood these subjects in and out!).

 I would usually go over the text book in my first read. My first read will only give me around 10 percent learning. It is fast paced and mostly to get my brain ready and in the zone; to get me familiar with what I am about to learn.

 After this form of reading, I may be able to score 40 percent in an exam; if it was a 'multiple choice answer type exam' as I may see things in the options, that I am familiar with!

 
My second round of reading though, is more effective! In this round, I will have a piece of paper. During my time, I used to prefer pieces of paper, to an entire book. I felt I could carry pieces of paper around more effectively and memorize these key points that I have had jotted. This helped! 

Then, after my third round of reading, I will be almost done! This time, after reading, I will write out what I have read in my own words on another sheet of paper or perhaps this time a book and I tell you, that final book, is only what I will read before an exam. I won't return to the original text book! 


It was easier for me at the time as I had a sister younger than me in the same class who struggled in our subjects and I would now be able to teach her what I have studied in my own words thus, very explanatory language! This stamped everything I have studied into my brain, that I am fully ready during exams. 


Overall though, there are still a ton of things, that we really never got to learn. We just ended up memorizing them!

Now the question is, are all concepts, studies, subjects, principles, explainable in very simple terms? 

Is blockchain, cryptocurrency, and the wealth of complex knowledge on steemit, explainable in the very simplest terms? 

Richard Feynman will say a big YES. 

He prides himself in being able to explain the most complex subjects in the simplest terms. Imagine being to explain atoms, molecules, virtual quantum, electrons to a layman. That is sheer talent or just perhaps it isn't. Perhaps, he really really learned this subjects to the fullest; broke it down; understood it, to its pieces.!

 
He applied 4 basics methods and according to him, these methods will help you learn any subject till you can explain it to anyone.

Here is a summary of his methods:

1. Choose a subject you want to understand and start studying it: 

So basically, conscious effort is involved! You need a little determination. 

However, for a start, you can be a bit casual. No rush! So write down everything you know about the topic on a notebook page; paper etc; then continue to gradually build on it, with anything new you learn about the subject!


2. Pretend to teach or teach your subject to a classroom or imaginary classroom:

Make sure you're able to explain the subject in simple terms.

 So, here comes the essence of the things you have jotted down. As they are now in your words, you will be able to explain it, in a bit more 'simpler terms', than those used in the original text or learn source.


3. Go back to the books or learn source, when you get stuck: 

When you get to a point, that you can no longer explain the subject in simple terms, go back to the original text or text book or internet source and revisit your study to fill in the gaps in your knowledge, until you can explain the topic fully.

4. Simplify you language even further and use analogies: 

Each time you repeat this process, you'll be simplifying your language; the facts will start to add up better and as you apply more analogies; you will strengthen your understanding. 


The Feynman Technique is perfect for our learning curve on steemit! Understanding steemit, in its very simplest form is a major part, not only in our conviction in its growth, but also, in how passionate we are, when inviting new members to steemit.

 Inviting new members to steemit should be as easy as, "hi Terry, how are you today? Please go watch this explainer video! It is about steemit" and boom, Terry is on steemit

But the question now is, who can really explain steemit, in a way that a regular Facebook user will understand? 

There are many inactive steemians or several who quit! I invited several and some did get a profile but ended up quitting because even me, a noob, couldn't explain steemit well enough, at the time. I have improved though! 


I implore the gurus of steemit. To read more on the Feynman technique. It is guaranteed that there are people who have better methods even! 

I have learnt a lot from @timcliff,@good-karma, @beanz, @reddust and @cryptomancer@ from their very simple and understandable interaction with me in the comments and in a short time. 

@sykochica has taken too much time out, just to explain to me steemit knowledge like i was 93!

I have read comments from @ned @thecryptofiend, @stellabelle etc. These people know this steemit stuff really well. 


Let's check the funnel of pertinent steemit questions again and let's have a few explainer videos that we (steemians), can all link to; that does it all! Let's have really simple explainer videos that we can share with friends and family free and confidently as it explains it all. Friendly, EASY-TO-UNDERSTAND videos, that covers all the fundamentals of steemit, in layman terms! 

'How to upload pictures with ease;, 'how link out properly', 'how to upvote properly', 'why to power up', 'why a comment can sometimes earn more than a post' etc. there are countless very basic answers that should be found fully explained in this videos; then we can easily share this videos or link to it and it handles the rest!


 "Understanding the fundamentals of steemit in layman terms is the beginning of understanding it all!"

(additional source/credit to: 1)

(image source/credit to: 1, 2)

YOUR BOY terry

@surpassinggoogle

Sort:  

You mentioned some great names there, like you said, they really know their stuff. Agreed.

thought to mention you too, you have been one of the real persons have i known. you will be mentioned in another post!

Ha! Nice! I appreciate that, it did make me smile.

Have a good night my friend. I am getting offline now. Shalom

kk enjoy sleep. have a good night as well!

Im sipping my whisky, lo and behold, my name is mentioned in a good way, icing on the cake! Nice article too, break it down into bite size pieces. If you can't, people aren't going to want to eat it....lolol

funny man, you just broke it into pieces. you were just so down-to-amazing to see! thank your your effort, the commendation. this is the you on steemit that attracts people your way. they have no choice. sip whisky! i will do beer, san miguel style!

LOL, it is nice when it is in a good way eh? (:

Yeah, I was a moderator for years on a Buddhist chat site, man even Buddhist can be mean...Steemit is pretty nice, cept for the knee jerk flaggers.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.51 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63192.94
ETH 2476.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69