What are the BEST days and times to post on Steemit? - Get more people reading your posts!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

cup of steem.jpg

I was curious, so I looked into this question myself.

Then today, someone asked me:

"I am here for less than a month and doing my best to write valuable and interesting content. But I have some problems with visibility. It happens that blog posts are sometimes seen by 10 or 20 people and that discourages me."

Of course, starting out, we all feel that way. To some degree, I still do, so I started to research what will make a difference, why, and how to go about it. (Not that I have fully implemented these things in my own posts yet, still working on that!)

1 - Post Mon - Thurs only!

Let's face it, most people are busy on weekends, and they want time to themselves on Fri to see friends, etc.

Your best chances of being read, are to post 4 days a week, when people are probably most receptive, for so many reasons, I won't go into it. Let's just say, that's what the stats show. (I will not cite references, they don't all agree, but this was my take away from reading several articles about the subject.)

2 - Post 9am - 2pm if you are on West Coast - PST Time Zone

Because you would like to see some on the EST time zone read your work, posting as early as possible makes sense, if you live in CA, like me. Post before people on EST are going to bed, and preferably several hours before...

ONE BIG THING - most Steemians are in USA right now!
Post when they are awake, if you live in JP, KR, RU, etc.

3 - Post regularly

It's going to be important to be known as a poster.
Not a re-steamer.
Not a commentator,

but a regular poster.
People will come to expect your work is good, and look forward to reading it, but only if you write well thought out, clean subject matter.

4 - Use the right tags

  • I won't repeat myself, I posted about this today, see links below.

5 - Link back to your other work

Link to your other recent posts:

How to purchase STEEM using USD:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@surfyogi/how-to-buy-bitcoins-using-usd-without-going-through-coinbase

How I got a 60 reputation on Steemit in 2 months:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@surfyogi/how-i-got-a-reputation-of-60-in-2-months-no-steemit

Sort:  

Cool article! I've been here for just over 2 weeks now, with an aim to post every 2 hours while I'm awake. Being in BC Canada, I'm also on PST.

I've found posts seem to do well between 9AM and 1PM, then again between 6PM and 9PM. The latter is probably due to California settling down for a bit of Steem for the night, having such a large tech-savvy population.

It may also have to do with the kind of content you post. I focus on creative writing with the occasional video game video. That's going to attract a different crowd, perhaps located in different places, than say personal success articles.

nice comment, thx 4 this!

Happy to contribute! It's an interesting question, and one I feel we can all work together to nail down.

Please let us know anything you may have to add to this after experimenting with these ideas.
I would especially like to understand a 24 hour schedule, and why and what seems to be best appreciated during given hours.

there very well may be best hours to post steemit related info and best hours to post photos, and best hours to be philosophical, for example. Thanks.

Yeah, for sure. I'll probably post in a bit more detail later, but so far I've noticed (Rough estimates, PST times):

SteemIt articles tend to do better the closer it is to Noon. It seems to drop off drastically after 1, so I'd shoot for between 11AM-1PM for these types.

Creative writing seems to do better a bit earlier, and then later. Roughly 8am-10am and then again between 5pm-7pm.

Seems to be a good amount of activity of one sort or another until about 7pm. Very little does well after that in my experience. not much experience to draw on with posting early (Though about to post something now, see how that goes.)

Great post. Today I was actually questioning myself at what times would you get the largest audiences? Thanks for all the tips!

Excellent Mr. Yogi.

Any digital media scientist will come up with the same talking points. Know when the majority of potential readers are online and are most receptive to click on your post and push good content out.

It's about reaching the biggest audience you can. That's why resteems are so important. And if your content is good, the actual views and upvotes will come automatically.

I made an article something like this before, maybe we have the same idea?

https://steemit.com/steemitpost/@bobiecayao/the-best-time-to-post-in-steemit-check-this-out

Very good advice about when to post.
thank!
Bildschirmfoto_2016_09_30_um_01_14_08.png

Great tips on getting more visibility here on Steemit! Will definitely be using them. thanks & followed

I love this as I often wondered this myself!!!! Thank you for the great tips :)

Damn you have been growing your steempower fast. Nice article. Can't keep up with you like this. But really made me excited again thnx!

Thanks for sharing. I am trying to create a schedule for my post and commenting and stick with it. This helps me get a better understanding of peak times.

Post when people are awake. Some still steem in the night hours when they are free. Just make sure you post good content, continue, yes. Do not stop. You will soon be noticed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43