STEEMIT POINTER - HAVING A HARD TIME GETTING A STEEMIT ACCOUNT?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


confused-girl-scratching-head.jpg


It has come to my attention, for new users attempting to register for Steemit, some people wait an hour, some people wait days, some people are not getting approved ever, and they don't know why.

For new account registration, Steemit tracks:

  • IP, email and phone number

and each must be unique (due to bots signing up for multiple new accounts, they use this strict signup criteria; not sure it's documented anywhere though, at least not the IP part)


To fix each issue that might come up, I suggest:

  • IP, to have a new IP address while registering, use a VPN to log into a proxy server that has a different IP than you normally use
  • email - create a new email account if necessary, and forward email from your new account to your main email inbox
  • phone - use a phone texting site (hosts phone numbers and allows you to receive a text message on the web page). If Steemit sends text for confirmation link or pin number, it will show up on a shared page, others will only see your confirmation, nothing else about you..


It should be obvious when registration is disallowed (because of one of the above issues), but it's not.. you just never get approved, and sent a new account email.

I know it's the highest priority to fix this problem, the new signup process is probably being tested now.. by a new means that will somehow self pay for new accounts (generated SP that pays back the delegated SP over time), instead of using delegated SP from one of the steemit accounts.

In some ways currently, Steemit is hobbled by this until it can fix it.

Sort:  

Took me like a day before I got it, a friend of mine had to wait 2-3 days. But it's still beta and you're getting free money with your account, so a bit of patience should be normal. If you really want an account right away you can always buy one for like 10-20 bucks.

Great post and narrative. Thank you for sharing!

There are some limitations and learning curve in steemit but its worth it

Keeps out the riff raff I guess... pretty exclusive club at this point.

Thanks for your great tricks @surfyogi..😊
I did not had much issue to create account in 3 months ago.. Only it's take few hours to approve.. But steemit account should have a demand.. So, I think new signup process is probably being tested...😎
Steem on..

I remember I was waiting for at least a day! Some of my friend was waiting for 5 days. Now at least i have a clue why! Thanks for sharing!

I had to wait a few days, too. I was quite surprised, but I also informed myself.
The registration should run faster, otherwise new users will run away!

New users are running away. VEry quickly, and it's painful to watch, so I thought I would say something.

I believe the new blue paper mentions the plan to fix it, so it's new users that have the hardest time for present, and are lost forever perhaps... or at least until it's fixed and they are inspired to try again somehow.

Thanks for sharing this... Two of my friends have been waiting for days now.. But with this, I think they can now complete the registration! Thanks

For me it took 7days to confirm. I think this is a big problem , as a user might forget about steemit after a few days , and if the confirmation mail gets lost between Spam mails , that user might never get back to Steemit.
I have a friend that doesn t want to give away his mobile number , so I offered him to create a Account for him. The Vessel wallet says it costs 0.2 Steem and ~29 SP , Does anyone know if the 29SP is lost or just added to the new Account. because 29.2Steem for a new Accoun t does seem to be a lot to me.

Signing up my wife took 8 days... And I keep telling her it was worth it, but she still hasn't posted yet...

I have feeling they will announce the new on-boarding process and the improvements on Steemfest, what do you think?

I'm hoping they announce it next week, but who knows, no announcement I have seen thus far, except a target of end of Sept.

I'm hoping they announce it today :) It's badly needed. On the other hand I can also understand not wanting to release before all bug testing and fixing has been thoroughly done. Releasing features that aren't 100% ready yet is a recipe for disaster.

And a floodstorm of complaints from unexpected behaviour or the code is not something I'd recommend having on this platform. Already it seems that communication from the platform's management could use some improvement from time to time.

So I think patience is needed.

Thank you for sharing this. I have been wanting to know about this because i have tried to sign people up now for months now and they have not gotten approved. I would try the different steps you have given, ASAP. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67130.22
ETH 3466.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73