You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Punishing Rabid Self-Upvoting of Comments

in #steemit7 years ago

I disagree with self upvoting "SHUN LISTS" a great deal, and here is why.

First of all, do lists like this, REALLY ASSESS the quality of people's comments, they are upvoting for themselves?

Secondly, do they assess if the same up-voters are also spreading the love for others they are interacting with?

Thirdly, should the community be deciding these things as self-formed vigilante groups, or petitioning the developers of steemit, to change the self voting rules?

I could go on and on and on, but I think that pretty well sums up several of my ideas, and I will now self vote myself, as well as several others, that I liked that commented as well.

PS - please let me know if you plan to shun me, so I can be sure not to:

  • READ YOUR POSTS IN KIND
  • Upvote your posts
  • Comment critically on your posts
    Thanks ;-)
Sort:  

PS -as a fairly new member of steemit, I spent time asking people if it was ok if I upvoted my own posts. Before HF19, people told me it was perfectly acceptable, so I find this a new issue for our community. Not a tired old issue..
I would respectfully suggest, if we are concerned people are not contributing to the discussions, then we could:

  • change the balance weighted to how much comments make, relative to new posts.
    -suggest the same person only gets to upvote one comment per post?

I noticed as a new member of steemit, trying to experiment with what generates SBD in general (which everyone will naturally do by the way):

  • comments with the most upvote SBD, get put to the top!
  • who wouldn't want that for themselves?
  • Does that need to be changed as well?

Finally, such "witch hunt lists" as above:

  • do not gauge if someone is contributing quality posts at the same time
  • or are bots designed to add 10 word comments and upvote themselves

correct?

I don't think they know what they are talking about. There are many real issues to focus, what they bring is non-issue. If self upvote in any form is really an issue, free market will fix it. It is none of their business, everybody should run their blog the way they want. That is the point of having stakes with SP. These guys are just hating and trying to establish authocracy lol. They cry about self upvote, but don't have decency to upvote those who engage with them.

I would like to point out:

  • after checking the FAQ, there is no official stance on this from steemit..
  • I think at some point, the FAQ should address it, instead of self-appointed shun list groups..

I have been trying to learn more about how thing work as well. At this point my understanding is top 20 witnesses decide what changes will be applied in hard forks. However everybody gets to vote for witnesses. Ultimately they are the ones who make changes. High SP holders are already in loss because they don't get 90-100% interest on their SP as it was originally. It is very small now. Why would anybody tigh up their steem in SP, if they cannot use on themselves as well. So, this is a failed campaign. In my opinion it goes against basic principles of steem.

well said!
obvious!
couldn't agree more!
what motivation to invest?!
it's the other side of the coin, it must b considered very seriously...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29