You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What will become of the economy if colleges fail?

in #steemit6 years ago

You're right in saying university system has agenda, leftish agenda and it's true they're steering students toward it. I do accept corporate dictatorship as a normal part of life. However, to me, it will never be a black and white issue. As a person, an individual, I can never hope to change the system. I also accept that is beyond my ability. What I do know is that I can choose to play the game or not and when to quit.

I agree people should be given an option to attend or not attend college. What I don't agree with is the blame rests entirely on the university system and not the students. You get what you put in, regardless what you want to do. If you pick a useless major expecting to make living wages, then maybe don't even bother going to college because that's not going to happen.

I do assume that the accreditation for college is benign and for general good because it only means I'm not getting scammed by some scummy fake institution that preys on student loans. Not to say that the government one wasn't, but these ones are even worst.
https://www.npr.org/sections/ed/2016/12/07/502601724/what-former-employees-say-itt-tech-did-to-scam-its-students

I don't think anyone hold a monopoly on knowledge, only monopoly on the accreditation. You can learn everything in college by yourself with free online classes like MIT open course, Coursera, Khan Academy. However, getting employers to accept those classes as proof of your competence will be very difficult.

Your post is not wrong but it's too generalized. University provides a jump in earning wages, and that is true for immigrants. Why is it that Asians and Middle Eastern immigrating to America always have their kids becoming engineers/doctors/scientist when they themselves are working a blue collar job? It's because they pick a worthwhile major, bust their asses in school then work internship in summer (no time for social justice), then get a 6 figures job by the time they graduate. University is just a mean, you decide the end game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65