You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beginner's Guide to Steemit: A New Initiative to Bring STEEM to the Masses

in #steemit7 years ago

I commend you Ethan for taking this project on, I know you have a very full plate to begin with and now you are in the buffet line with this one. I don't know that I can be much help to you but I will tell you that it would have been great for me to have something like you are proposing to put together when I got here. As you know, I knew not a thing about blogging or crypto currencies. Having something like this guide will benefit me for sure in explaining steemit to others I come across in my daily travels.
I will definitely keep this on my radar screen and offer what I can in suggestions from my perspective.
Best of luck, and thank you.

Sort:  

I'm actually interested in your perspective since you joined because of the immortality aspect of information on the blockchain.

What was it like when you first found out about Steemit, and what was it that pushed you over the edge to use it consistently despite the steep learning curve?

Let me answer the middle part of the question first.
Fear pushed me over the edge to use it consistently. None of us know how long we will be alive and so the fear of not knowing how much of time I would have for recording my thoughts and stories for my future grand kids pushed me to write a daily dose of what is on my mind.
Determination was the other factor in that as well, so much gets lost in family history when left to memory as what may seem insignificant to one person may be important to another, but never gets passed on. As an example of that; I didn't know until two years ago that my grandmother on my Mom's side of the family was a bootlegger during the prohibition times, my older brothers knew, but never mentioned it and neither did my mother. My grandmother owned a diner and ran an illegal booze operation out the back door of it.
So I am determined to leave as much I can for my future grand kids, without junking up this place (steemit.com) and making folks angry, so one post every day on here, it is my blockchain diary. Determination to leave something for the future family is a big key, unlike most diaries that are kept secret, mine has to be public; that is the trade off, so to speak, in that it costs me nothing to use this blockchain technology for personal use.
As for the steep learning curve, when you stand at the edge of tall cliff and look over that edge it can be scary as hell. If your goal is to get to the river in the valley below the cliff you can either jump off and hope the water is deep enough so you don't get hurt or you find another way to get down there. The steep learning curve is just the path down the backside of the mountain for me, I take it one step at a time, sometimes a path has obstructions and you have to back up and go a different way, but you learn and find the way down to the river. So while the learning curve is steep here, it doesn't mean you can't take your time and find your right path. No one is saying to you when you are that top looking over the cliff that you only have five minutes to reach the river.
So now I will answer your first part of the question, "what was it like", it was like finding that beautiful river and valley and just knowing in my gut that this was the place I wanted to be. The block chain technology offered everything that I was looking for in information storage. It also offered a whole lot more that I wasn't even aware of in the form of steemit and steem which I discovered after reading about block chain. I learn more and more each day, the willingness of people that are on here that have the knowledge to help those of us that don't have it is simply amazing. Had it not been for those people, you included for sure, I may have had a rougher go of it. So, that is it ,from my side as someone who knew nothing coming here.
I do give back to newcomers, giving what knowledge I have learned over in the introduceyourself tags posts. There are somethings the bots can't do, like tell a person what to expect when they arrive here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54