You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things Are Not Quite Adding Up

in #steemit5 years ago

Taking things at face value like I have been known to do it would seem to me that Steemit Inc. isn't even a blip on the radar screen of people working in the tech industry. Those job postings have a posted date of three weeks ago and the one had 16 views and the other had 27.
I don't know anything about the tech / software / engineering of any of this but those seem like very small numbers of views for the computer / tech type world of job opportunities.
You did say that you found this on twitter didn't you? Isn't twitter where all the tech folks are at, along with everyone else but me?
I could understand the low number of views if was posted on some obscure site somewhere but I would think that it was published where it would get noticed by people who could actually do this type of work.
Makes me wonder...

Sort:  

What I saw on twitter from either Steemit or Ned saying we are hiring. The photos above are from LinkedIn which as you know is the worlds biggest recruitment site. 16 days old is correct. Just over 2 weeks ago. The 70% cuts were announced last Wednesday so not that big of a gap. If I was planning on cutting 70% of my workforce , I would not be planning to hire 2 devs a week before the announcement . His hand was forced I imagine and quite promptly.

Well, I know how things can change fast in business situations. The contract I worked under for the last eleven years expired 10/31/18. It was an annual contract and was normally renewed by the 15th of each October, this year on the 11th I got notice that it was not being renewed. So my contract ran out on Halloween night.
I just found it interesting that it appeared there wasn't much interest in those job listings from steemit given the very low number of views in what is supposed to be a real hot tech industry.
Surely his hand was forced just like the people I work for when they had to tell me and another guy that our positions were being eliminated. It happens, its business.

Sorry to hear about losing the contract . They gave you two weeks notice which is not very professional after 11 years . True that’s business but it should of been a month at least.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83