"ReBlog" - The Good, The Bad and The UglysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

ReBlog

The new ReBlog feature seems to give us the power to feature others content to our followers. Of course this isn't as easy and good as you might think. Here are some of my thoughts.

The Good

Undiscovered authors get more attention. Chances are the people you follow will introduce you to other similar authors from time to time. You'll find more interesting articles to read and show your support by following them. It's a win-win situation and it goes both ways.

The Bad

Although the people you are following might introduce you to new interesting users, they might more likely introduce you posts you are not interested in. Everyone has different interests after all. Your feed will get cluttered with uninteresting posts.
Have you checked who you are following? Now it's more important and that might lead to some people getting the "UNFOLLOW" box clicked, because of excessive reblogging of uninteresting posts or even spamming.

The Ugly

New features are always nice, but they rarely work as intended from the get go. I'm seeing the ReBlog feature simply turning our personalized feeds into a normal feed and the more random people you are following the more you will feel it. We have the power already to search things that interest us with tags and topics. So I see an Ugly mess coming out of this for many users.

Solutions?

I guess we'll have to dig some.
How about...
...another feed especially for ReBlog posts?
...the option to not see ReBlog posts from certain users?
...an filtering system to ReBlog posts? (ReBlog posts have to be tagged with topics that interest us to be visible in our feed)

What do you think?

PS: How about ReBlogging if you agree with my thoughts.


Leave me some thoughts.
Check out my other posts @sulev
Follow!

Sort:  

hi sulev! I went ahead and made a chrome plugin that helps to alleviate some of this the other day, take a look and let me know your thoughts!

I'd certainly like all the reblogs to go to their own tab so I can ignore them and have a feed from the people I followed in the first place.

Since Steemit is still in beta, features will always be implemented and tested. It's the only way to know if they work. We are the testers in this wild west called Steemit! :) Good use of the Spaghetti Flick characters! I love it! I Followed you now !Thanks for the fun post. I reblogged ya too :)

Thanks! Talking about the changes, sharing thoughts and concerns is part of this wild west here. We have the power to shape it as we desire.

@chadcrypto
Well said : "wild west called Steemit!".
I love it!

Remember when we used to share via fb and others in Ancient Times?
I mean a few months ago !
:)

How times are changing :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75