You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Care about others: Limit Picture Sizes to 1MB.

in #steemit8 years ago

15 years ago having a 10mbit connection was unheard of. Lots has changed in the 21st century from 2000 to today.
10 to 20mbit might be considered the norm around my area(estonia), but I know it's definitely not the case elsewhere in the world, even the US where internet is provided mostly with hardlimit(download limit). That sucks. Keeping the traffic down for them is vital.

Sort:  

Never new that. I my little town I have 300mbps Internet without download limits at home. I'm lucky!

:D A 300mbit connection is High-end Light-cable connection for consumers. I bet it costs much.
I had a 100mbit connection not long ago, but paying 30€ a month seemed too much. Now I have 10mbit, but pay about 12€. There's really no need for the extra speed 99% of the time.

It costs 510 rubles in my city. It is about 8 USD

wow, but then again you are in Russia. Things are very different, considering what you can get for money.
I was in Hawaii in 2015. I don't know the broadband speeds, but I bought a SIM card which gave me 2GB of internet a month. It cost me 60$!!! Crazy! Yet it was considered the norm. You can imagine my amazement. Right now I have unlimited 2mbit internet on my phone and pay 6€ a month.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59022.17
ETH 2569.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53