You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Commentary: Ethics and Growing on Steemit — The Delicate Issue of the Self-Upvote

in #steemit6 years ago

Nice :) I am most certainly a purist :) I understand there are a variety of ways to look at this but for me it's quite simple. I do feel like it's cheating. On a personal level, if I cheat I stench up my conscience, which is my only backup when it comes to spiritual or moral strength. And I feel that applies on a community level - if you are happy to upvote yourself then you're happy to steal from someone else who may be more deserving than you. I hate greed out in the world, I hate how the public commons has been raped by private corporations and the damage they have wrought. I think something similar occurs here on a digital level.

Perhaps I've overthought this, and maybe I sound a little puritanical and wanky about it, I dunno. All I know is that I can't do that shit cos I'll feel bad about myself. Others can do it cos they are greedy or selfish or don't get the repercussions. What can you do?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63441.26
ETH 2477.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64