How STEEMiT is funding my 1968 VW Bus Restoration! Part 1

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

By it’s very nature #steemit is a crowdfunding platform. Whether intended or not, by simply documenting this project every step of the way, I gather #steem that will ultimately help fund the very project that I’m blogging about. So, let me #introduce what I’m doing and how I plan on doing it.

Four years ago I purchased my dream car, this 1968 VW Bus.

Yes, I know, most 40 year old men have higher standards for their dream cars. But, mine are modest and almost comical. You see, what I’ve always dreamed about was a cool hippy van that I could cruise to the beach in, or #travel across the country with my family in. So, in 2012 I took out a $4200 dollar loan, bit the bullet, and dove into the world of classic Volkswagens with the vision of having it on the road in no time.

Well, its 4 years later and I’ve driven this beauty a disappointing 4 times for a grand total of about 20 miles. The not so wonderful thing about a 50 year old stoner bus is that it takes a lot to keep it moving. I am not mechanically inclined and have had to learn along the way. But, after many hundreds of dollars of engine repairs and a lot of patience, there is once again #life in this old hunk of metal. It’s alive!!

So, why the blog? Well, the next step is to restore her to her original beauty. She needs a professional paint job and an interior overhaul. My plan is to use youtube to learn everything I can about bodywork and rust removal. After body work is complete, I will turn her over to a professional for paint. Then, I’ll restore her interior, again with the help of Youtube, to a customization that best fits my families needs.

My hope is that you guys will find this interesting enough to join me on this journey. A few motivational comments and confidence boosting uplikes will help generate a few bucks here and there to aid in funding this #adventure.

Now first order of business. It’s been 4 years and she doesn’t have a name. Any suggestions? If so, #introduceyourself and NAME THAT BUS!

Sort:  

Awesome! I'm hoping to get an 80s or 90s Westfalia at some point! #vanderlust all the way!

Wish you best of luck! I say we call her Steemy!

cool: once you get them working VW's run forever. Whats the gas mileage like?

Haven't had a chance to drive it enough to find out. As soon as restoration is complete...it should be pretty good.

What a great vision to keep you going and get you through the hard times. I am sure you will accomplish your goal if you keep sticking with it. You have found a great place to share your story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69