Experimenting with Up Votes to Gain Followers here on STEEMIT -- Will It Work?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

follow-1277026_640.png

My last experiment was using Hashtags within an article versus listing tags in the Tag bar. What I learned was that you must list at least one tag in the tag bar in order to be able to post and that one tag will be the main category for your article. I did not notice anything else different other than that.


For this new experiment, I have started with 100% Voting Power and will begin up-voting from the 'New' category. The plan is to up-vote any post with a picture and where the account has a Steemit Reputation score of 40 or higher. I will also NOT up-vote anyone I currently follow, is plagiarizing or otherwise hurting the Steemit community. I plan to up-vote from the 'New' section of STEEMIT starting with up-voting about 1 hour's worth of posts and then the new ones as they come in until I am down to about 60% of my voting power.




I currently have about 406 followers. Hopefully when all the up-voting is done I have more followers than when I started. I will also up-vote any comments or replies. This little experiment was inspired by @papa-pepper and his post about @sandstorm . If you have time, check these two awesome STEEMIT members partaking in the new Token Economy!
RESULTS

As previously stated, I started out with 406 Steemit followers. The Up-Voting part of the experiment is now over and I am down to about 59.5% of my voting power. I did post a few comments on some of the articles; I couldn't help it. Now that I am done up-voting, I have gained 6 new followers for a total of 412 followers.


So far the experiment is working and goes to show that maintaining an active STEEMIT membership will be rewarded by the STEEMIT community. STEEMIT is still in Beta with video embedding directly to your posts coming soon.

Thanks for following!

@streetstyle
05/15/17

image source:

pixabay.com

Sort:  

I think commenting is the best strategy but it remains tedious nonetheless.

Commenting is an excellent way to interact with the STEEMIT community.... @sandstorm is a perfect example of that!!

I love these kind of sociology experiments. I will be interested to see your final results!

thanks for the re-STEEM of this post @thecryptofiend , it is truly appreciated.

You're welcome. I find experiments fascinating!

Thanks @thecryptofiend !!

cheers!

Just 48 hours new to this format, and I have become completely engrossed in learning about all the intricacies that make SteemIt what it is. Thanks for sharing this experiment, and now following. Dawn

Welcome @dawnmarie There is a bit to learn but it will reward you handsomely. Active participation here on the Steemit community will also help you learn as well as potentially gain an income.

full steem ahead!

I noticed i had a few cents with one of my posts with only 3 votes had to check who it was .. wasnt hard to see it was you 😀 thanks i will follow you
@streetstyle

Thanks and glad to help and support @deez Keep the comments coming! Active participation here gets rewarded handsomely! You will see!

full steem ahead!

Steem on

Resteemed

I am now following you @deez Thanks for the support!

I remember this was a strategy, and to some extent a problem, on instagram a few years back. I think people we're abusing the like and follow features to build their numbers up. I think the problem there was largely bot related and ultimately they fixed it.

I'm new to this community but I'm fascinated with crypto and hearing about steemit really intrigued me.

Cool post

Welcome to STEEMIT @toblerusse I don't believe I was abusing the Steemit system by up-voting, if anything I hope it inspires some of the people that I did up-vote to continue posting.
There is nothing more discouraging than working hard on a Steemit post/blog and only have 1 like from your own account. So hopefully by participating in the Steemit community, others will see that it has some success and will emulate that for themselves. This in turn will help Steemit's current success become even more successful!
full steem ahead!

definitely. what I meant with instagram was a bit different. It was ultimately corrected by their internal developers.

you are right about the feeling of posting and getting no views or votes. I am still confused after a few days. I've posted a dozen or so things. Two of them were very well received (statistically) and others remain on 0.00. It's a bit confusing as to why since i feel the content isn't that disparate.

Strange to me. I'm also noticing that all my rewards are at 0 and i was not given any free steem when i signed up even tho many others were. I think perhaps i got 1.000 steem power. And no sbd or steem. It's all kinda confusing to me. I see that things take about a week to pay out too. Perhaps i'll understand more next week if i see my numbers finally go up.

cheers

Yes things are in a state if flux since it is still in Beta. Payouts used arrive sooner but now take a week I believe, but that also allows your post to collect more up votes too (eventually a better payout). And yes in the beginning it will be rocky but if you stay consistent it will payoff.
Full Steem Ahead from Baja MX!

Nice experiment.
Although I did not execute any plan to see what happens on the follow side of things, but I do see that the more active I am, the more followers I get. Not necessarily all at once, but at some stage I see more followers added after I done a couple of days high activity, in posting but mainly in commenting. Recently I get quite a influx of new accounts, maybe logical since many new accounts created, apparently. What will be your next experiment?

@edje You already beat me to it. I will be posting shortly so stay tuned.

Do share the results of your experiment. Up voting new comers is definitely positive reinforcement for them and hopefully will encourage them

I will @positivesteem Stay tuned!! Thanks.

full steem ahead!

I know you have a "winning model" if you are posting experiments. I used to do lots of case-study types of posts on my old blog (which no longer exists) and those were BY FAR the most popular in terms of views and interaction! This was in 2007-2009 timeframe.

Thanks for the vote of confidence, and welcome to Steemit @chrisstigson !!

full steem ahead!

Great initiative

resteemed and followd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56