3 DON'TS & 1 DO -- FOR NEWBIES ONLY -->> STEEMIT SUCCESS!! -- The Follow UP

in #steemit8 years ago

Imgur

Don't What?

Yesterday I posted 3 Don'ts & 1 Do for Newbies because I felt that the 60K or so New Minnows have no real place for information that is directed at them as newbies. It was meant to be short and concise. And for the most part it was well received but it did create some controversy for some who disagreed.

All of the disagreement came from Minnow DON'T #3, where I stated in the article:

And DON'T #3 for all the Newbies is DON'T UP VOTE. At this point, if you are a newbie, you are most likely a "Minnow" in the STEEMIT "OCEAN" and have very little STEEM POWER. Since Minnows have little STEEM POWER, their up votes have "no weight" or very little and therefore likely not receive a payout.

and then also wrote

most if not all the votes are for nothing unless you have some serious STEEM POWER.

The last part is what seemed to cause most of the controversy for people and led to a nice discussion in the thread that followed. It was that discussion that led to this follow up in order to clear things up a little more as it pertains to Up Voting in the life of a Minnow.

To reiterate from the original post, DON'T #3 for Minnows is Not to Up Vote. What I should have stated rather was Do Not Up Vote Everything in Site. Do Not Up Vote an article that already has $1000 or more! As I explained to @charlchristo in the follow up discussion

charlchristo28 · 22 hours ago
using your advice not to up vote yet ...otherwise would @streetstyle !

[-]streetstyle56 · 22 hours ago
@charlchristo hehehe.....You are right. The IDEA is to be Selective with your votes. If you have little Steem Power, then your vote would be inspirational reward for both us but not financial. Let say this post does go viral, then Yes, an early Up Vote from a Minnow will receieve a payout... but the Post has to make some serious Cash. Eventually as you grow, your votes will receive more and more rewards. For now, AS A DOLPHIN, I will do what I can for " my minnows. "

When I wrote the article, my head was in Minnow Mode. I was thinking from the perspective of a Minnow. I had just read @dantheman 's article Curation Rewards and Voting Incentive, where he states "Minnows should stick to posting and commenting. " So between seeing New Minnows Voting away until they most likely get Carpal Tunnel Syndrome and having read @dantheman 's post, I wrote my article. But it was @freewill who reminded me of the Writers' side with his reply:

As a writer, each and every upvote, even if it's not "worth" anything, keeps me motivated to continue doing what I'm doing (creating original content I think the community will enjoy).

To which of course I agreed. Each and Every vote I receive is inspirational, be it 1 vote or more. It is an indicator that someone appreciated your effort enough to actually Up Vote. Up Votes, in a sense, can have more than just monetary value. Up Votes can give you a sense of worth that no Dollar could truly ever match. Writers, creators, bloggers, artists and others that make or build things will understand to what I refer.

Imgur

Votes will be one of the main driving forces of the STEEMIT OCEAN. Like in the World's Ocean where it is the smaller fish and creatures of the sea that are the base of the Food Web providing the needed energy to keep the Ocean's entire Biosystem running, so to here on STEEMIT, the minnows will be the greatest in numbers providing the Greatest Voting Power of the Masses. Eventually Schools of Minnow Fish will likely Dominate the STEEMIT OCEAN exercising their Voting Power to send articles Sky High or Down voting them to the bottom of the Mariana Trench at will.
Full $teem Ahead

Imgur
8/19/16
@streetstyle
My Top Blogs
- Intl. Manhunt
- What is steemd.com?


sources:
wikipedia
@dantheman
pixabay.com

Sort:  

The rewards are a nice bonus but I like to support posts which I have found informative, entertaining or educational. I know my Minnow weight isn't very powerful but the intangible value of some Upvote love may just encourage a writer to cast another story hook into the Steemit pond and maybe this time they catch an almighty whale.

@stephen-somers Just keeping doing what you are already doing. I appreciate the comment as well as the up vote.
Full $teem ahead!
@streetstyle

For me I am small fish put where ever the up vote's come from its important for me I am doing something right people who follow me yes I try to return the compliment when I see there posts in my feed, hopefully as more join the ecosystem becomes about what you like to read rather then how much money you can make but I am properly mad its the gemini in me but i am happy with the both of us.

you are making me smile! @streetstyle think I am starting to get this...thank you again!

@charlchristo oops i fat thumbed a downvote... Hopefully I reversed That. Anyway, glad you like the info. And if you do a proper #introduceyourself or verification post, you might get paid. It will def. help boost your Reputation number which ultimately leads to better payouts too.

@streetstyle awesome! And will take a look. Glad I dove in close to a Dolphin!

it's pretty simple -- rewards are bestowed onto those with more involvement in the community -- sounds about right to me

Yes this main thing

Exactly @rwgunderson And here you go, not much but literally my two cents. Thanks for the comment and support

:)

"Minnows should stick to posting and commenting. " hmm...
People should do the way they like tbh... Authors are always happy to get upvote even it doesn't bring any value even late in the game.

@djm34 I think both @dantheman and I were looking at it more crom a financial aspect, especially when minnows are up voting thinking they will get a payout. So yes vote on good content but maybe more importantly, after you up vote leave a comment. I know I personally try to reply And up vote those comments. More Dolphins and Whales need to do that.
Full $TEEM Ahead!
@streetstyle

Even though a newbie and a minnow...I upvoted, coz I found it useful and was a good read :-)

And an up vote for you @sizil because you are doing exactly what a newbie should be doing. And thank you for the support.
Full $teem Ahead!
@streetstyle

Or, I don't care about the affect and I'll just respond and reply as I always would have, without the "political" hype of trying to have this or that effect.

Good post and good update!
Thank you for taking the time to provide more information on the important topics for newbies.

Steem on,
Mike

But when do you stop calling yourself a newbie?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04