Your skin color holds no nationality

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

  Alright, everybody reading this post, raise your hand if you have ever been told that you don't look like someone from your country for an X reason. 

 '-'/  '-'/  '-'/   '-'/  '-'/

Yes I raised my hand five times and would raise it a million if necessary with the question or a premade conception over myself I would be the richest person alive, period. 

Comments go like this:

"-No you CAN'T be dominican, you are way too white-" 


"-Where are your parents from then?- 

-They are dominican too- 

-NO WAY-"


"-From which part of the country your family is from?-"


"-No but, from where you REALLY are from.-" 


"-Is your family from the capital? for real?-"


"-But you get no sunlight then-"


"-That skin color is no dominican-"


"-pale skin? light hair? blue eyes? that's not dominican-"


"-So they are dominican but from there's no sun-"


"-But you don't get out of the house then, you need some sun girl.-"


My favorite: 

"*eating chicharrón with a group of friends* 

-So Rosalía, you like this right?- 

-Yes...-

-I'm glad, you know, as your parents are foreigners they may give you other food so I didn't know if you would like this.-

-I've eaten chicharrón before.-

-really?-

-Bruh my parents are dominican- 

-...-

-yep-

-and your grandparents?- 

-also-

-...-

-yeah-"


This kind of things I may forgive from foreigners, media have made the image of this country like an eternal beach with brown skin women who are always grinding their hips at some Caribbean music. With I do not see as wrong there are dominican women who fall in this category. 

But from dominicans? when they made us repeat  hundreds of times on school that we are a mix between spanish, africans and taínos? We are a mix of races, in a mix some are most in the middle, other are farther in one of the axis.

 The only person who's not dominican in this picture is the second starting from the left -who is spanish- but the rest it is, yes the fourth one is me, yes i'm a midget, yes the work behind us is mine. 


But wait, there are also asian, indian and middle easterners descendants or third + generation who are dominican -and for some reason they are believed as dominican more than me- 

What i'm saying with all of this? Skin color doesn't make you more or less X, it holds no identity, we gave it meaning, the only thing that your skin means is how much fucked up you will be at the beach. Assholes may want to tear you down because of that but there's a saying in spanish that says: "Dime de lo que alardeas y te diré careces" with means "Tell me what you brag about and I will tell you what you are lacking of". There are 2 options about them:
1- From their model of pre concieved world things are like how they expressed, so their opinion comes from innocent preconceptions and you should just kindly correct them. 

2- They are as I listed before: assholes, and you should just remain calm because you are better person than them. 



PS:

For the ones wondering Chicharrón is a common street food, is deep fried pork belly with its fat and skin. It's not healthy at all but very delicious. 



Sort:  

Race is a social caste system NOT a scientific thing...

I don't like using the term race, race is the difference between a dog and a horse, it implies we are different when it is not. The correct term is ethnicity which is what we are, a single species with different adaptations depending of the climate our ancestors are from.

Some people believe it's not just the climate but instead or also related to the diet.

I know that fact, i recall we had a conversation about that before, remember the thing about soy having a lot of estrogen? god it was ages ago

dominicans themselves have problems identifying with their own blackness

This is propaganda the way I see it. Why would anyone have to identify with anything because of the color of their skin or where their parents came from?

they made us repeat hundreds of times on school that we are a mix between spanish, africans and taínos

This is what I remember, mixing is encouraged too. Are there people who have issues with the way they may be perceived and treated because of their looks? If there weren't then that'd really be weird.

To be honest this notion that dominicans don't want to be black or are denying part of themselves is very silly in my eyes, I couldn't count the number of times I've been questioned just like you describe. It's always the darkest people doing the questioning because in their mind white is not dominican, black can be dominican, mixed can be dominican, but not white. That's why I find it so crazy that lately we've seen so much propaganda trying to make us believe it's the other way around and blackness is not welcome.

I would like to make a post talking more deeply into the topic actually, for me is very interesting, women straighten their hair every week for it to be more like white people, encourage getting a white/paler skin companion to "fix' their race and at the same time denies whiteness as part of the mix. Sincerely I consider myself racial blind, for me is so vain that sometimes remembering conversations or people I cant recall their skin color because for me is something as trivial as the shirt you are wearing.

Straight hair is not a white thing...Chinese? Indians? That's for starters.

Second, there may be historical reasons why someone would want to appear more white or have lighter children. For one the Europeans that came over had a culture of commerce and most came with a little something in their pocket. Because of that they could see and take opportunities quicker which gave them advantages over others that came as slaves.

It would be assumed that a person who is lighter, being closer to this historical advantage than one who is darker and whose ancestors most def came as a slaves, would have more of an education, more skills, and most importantly more gold. They may have come with their family while the slave was taken from their family...

So it makes sense you'd want to have a child that is assumed to have grown up in a different setting, a setting that would allow them to be useful for something other than heavy duty.

It's not about race but class, that's the way I see it.

I actually had that on the mind sketch for other post, but yeah that is one of the reasons, I wanted this post to be something very superficial about the topic, thought i may admit I made some mistakes, like the thing about denying our blackness when further down I say that race doesn't matters, I may correct that, thanks.

Congratulations @straydays! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

I agree! Skin color holds no nationality!
Thanks for sharing! And the chicharron looks good. I enjoy some once in a while.
Steem on :)

So true, by the way.
Since I made my tatoos I stoped sunbathe at all and every year I become whiter and whiter, heh:( Had a more dark skin earlier.

Welcome to the vampire clan, btw i hope to get my first tattoos in following years, so exited really.

Now I have two (if not to count eye lines, then three). And I want to have the third one, but now I want to strech the pleasure:) I made my first two with a year interval:)

I heard comments about my hair. Like you have good hair like white people.

Don't tell me in your country they also use those terms?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74