You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Attention Sharks - There is blood in the water. Are you ready to invest?

in #steemit8 years ago

Thank you @timcliff for clearing the air and reminding us of the positive things happening.

Squeaky wheels stick out, but where there are problems, there is opportunity!

We can complain or contribute.

The choice is yours.

Sort:  

I learned about the platform just this morning and I had seen STEEM on poloniex.com but never really cared to see what the technology was all about. I'm happy I did. I bought some steem and I will be holding as well as moving some to steemit. I'm glad I found this community

Awesome, welcome to the community! It's a work in progress, but here is a post that should give you some helpful pointers. Also, if you are purchasing STEEM, you should read up on "powering up" to Steem Power. If you are planning to hold on to it as more of a long-term investment, that is usually the best thing to do. I hope you enjoy your time here :)

"We can complain or contribute."

Well said! My thoughts exactly :)

or ... you could stop bullshitting yourself, look at the facts and conclude that I was right and you're wrong ...

I am going to reply to you here, because I think a lot of the comments you made below need to be addressed, but I want to skip over all the profanity and insults.

You seem to have a big issue with my article, and even me personally.

I get that you think investing in STEEM is a bad idea. You seem to think that since I am saying positive things about it, that I must be evil, lying, and trying to mislead people..

First of all, nowhere in my post did I say that I expect the price of STEEM to go up. I tried to explain both the positive and negative things about STEEM and the community. I really didn't even try to sugarcoat it either. There are issues. Theses issues need to be addressed in order for Steemit to be successful. What I did do was to insert my own personal viewpoint and opinion, which is that there is a lot going on in the community that I think has the potential to make Steemit a success.

I think I can get past your "style" of being aggressive and insulting, and using language that would make my grandmother blush. It looks like that is just the way you like to talk to people that you disagree with.

What bothers me though is you call me a liar. You also make claims about things that I have been saying, which I never said. For example, in a comment below you say I have been predicting that the price of STEEM would go up for the past several months. Where did I say that in any of my posts?

I very rarely talk about the price of STEEM in any of my posts. Most of my posts revolve around development activities and features that the community want added to the site - like avatars and private messages. I also like to give my thoughts on things (like why I don't like to tell people I'm gay because it makes them uncomfortable) or get the community's input on things (like what is your favorite Netflix show).

The few times that I did write posts about the price over the past few months though, they were actually saying that it would go down! This was a while ago when the price was higher than it is now, but I have definitely not been preaching that it would go up! A few weeks ago one of the technical analysis posts that said it seemed that the downtrend had started to reverse -I replied and said that I thought it still had a ways to go before it hit bottom.

I really don't know what the price of STEEM will do in the short term or long term. If I did, I would be making myself a ton of money!

Investing in STEEM is a speculative investment. Any potential investor is going to need to do their research and figure out what the best decision is for themselves.

If people think similar to me, in that there is good upside potential, but are not sure where the bottom is - they might continue to buy small incremental amounts as it continues to trend down, and hope/wait for it to reach the bottom and reverse. For someone like you, it sounds like the best move would be to short STEEM and just hope/wait for the whole place to go to hell!

let me ask you this question;

do you honestly believe that the price of SBD is about to go up or are you misleading people?

don't answer me ... just answer it to yourself ... but look inside yourself, analyze the thoughts you had when you wrote that title ... then answer it

I think my point is clear; you do not honestly believe the price is about to go up; you've been misleading people ...

and all the 'negatives' remarks you made are only there to cover it up; you know the price is not going up, you're just writing whatever you think will get you whale votes; playing into the problem ... that's not cool!

let's be honest; you actually respect me for being so brutally honest, you're just struggling to admit it ... to yourself!

Thanks for finally asking something that we can discuss instead of just throwing insults at each other.

My honest opinion is this: I think that the price will slowly continue to slide down until some changes get made to the site (including the addition of advertising) and another recruitment push is made. After that, I expect the price of STEEM to go up.

I have no idea where the bottom will be, or if there even will be a bottom. It is definitely possible that the whole thing could crash and burn.

If it is actually as successful as what I believe it has the potential to become though, then it has the possibility to go a lot higher than what we saw in the July spike.

If you are wondering why I don't think it is a good idea to wait it out and buy in when it is lower, it is because there is possibly that the price could hit bottom and spike back up at any time. I'm not saying that it will, or even that it is likely to happen soon. But the reality is that it could happen any day and leave everyone that was waiting on the sidelines behind.

Compared to what I believe STEEM has the potential to reach, I do consider today's price a really good (although risky) buy. It might and likely will be an even better buy tomorrow, and an even better buy the day after that..

Whether I am right or wrong with my personal prediction/opinion is still up in the air, but it is what I honestly believe.

I continue to power up more and more SP as the price continues to go down to try and maximize the amount of SP I get before the price hopefully goes back up.

You are welcome to say that my opinion is completely incorrect, and I'm an idiot for believing what I do. I really would have no problem with that, and there's a chance that you'd be correct :)

What I wrote is what I truly believe and feel though. And I back that up by the fact I continue to invest. Whether I'm or wrong is one thing, but I am really not trying to say anything dishonest or misrepresent the reality in any way.

the problem I have with people like you is that you're simply not an honest person

those 30 whales are the problem; that's a mathematical fact, yet you don't put it on top of your article in a big header, because you know if you would ... those 30 whales would downvote your post

so instead you just spew a bunch of lies to get whale votes; you're a fraud ... just like most people here ... and that's why the price keeps dropping; most people here are lefties = corrupt liars and cheats

You don't put it at the top of your article in a big header

So first of all, to write an article like what you suggest is bad formatting. If I put that as the first thing in my article, I will likely lose my readers interest. At least with the audience that I am writing for..

Second, you are telling that I need to say things that you find the most relevant, in the way you want me to say it, in my article in order to meet your standards. If I don't write exactly what you believe, in the way you want it presented, than I am a liar..?

Thirdly, I even said in my post that the whales holding so much of the power is a problem with the site. I said what you wanted me to say right in my post. I just used different wording than you would (this is my post after all..), but I included the information you said I should add, because I agreed with your point.

you just spew a bunch of lies

There you go again. That is what I keep asking. What in my article are you saying is untrue? Where specifically am I lying??

I will likely lose my readers interest. At least with the audience that I am writing for..

as in; you're lying to get votes ... whale votes; you're part of the problem!

so, you just confessed that you actually don't believe the price will go up ... now read your title again; it implies the exact opposite!

you're a fraud!

now look at the votes you got; what makes you think that a platform, where frauds like you get a lot of votes for misleading people ... will ever be successful?

the system is fine, although there's plenty of room for improvement, the problem are the people; too many of the whales are utterly corrupt idiots and they fucked it all up

unless dan and ned grow some balls and start fighting for their own creation; steemit is doomed!

I see what you are saying. I at least understand where you are coming from now, and that you are not just throwing out accusations because you don't like what I'm saying. I will try to explain where I am coming from.

I purposely titled the post "Are you ready to invest?" not "The time to invest now". The reason is because today, right at this point in time, is probably not the point it is going to all of a sudden turn around and start going up. It could be soon -but we don't know.

Regardless of whether it turns around today, tomorrow, next week, next month, or 6 months from now - I do feel that at today's price it is a good buy. The reason is because there is so much upside potential, which is what I presented in my article.

If you look at the total market-cap on http://coinmarketcap.com/, we are still above the "pre-peak" market-cap - but not by much. From a technical perspective, there is actually a decent chance that we are nearing the bottom, if the pre-spike level was a good market-cap valuation of the platform. There are a lot of "what-ifs" and speculation in that, but it is a reasonable argument.

Based on that, now really is the time for an investor to start asking themselves the question about whether or not they want to invest. Looking at it from the long-term perspective, whether $0.15 cents, $0.10 cents, $0.05 cents, or even $0.01 cent is where it hits bottom - if 5 years from now it is sitting at $30.00 per coin, is not really that relevant. If an investor buys in anywhere in that range and the price does go up - then it was a good decision.

You asked me "do not honestly believe the price is about to go up". The key part of that when I read it was "about to". I would be lying if I said I expected it to all of a sudden turn around within the next few days (or weeks, or anytime in the immediate future for that matter). I was also not trying to make the case in my article though that things were all of a sudden about to turn around.

If you asked me the question "do you think that the price is going to go up a lot higher than it is today?" - without a constraint of when that was going to occur, then my answer would be a resounding "yes". That was the point of my article.

why this guy is flagged?

He basically started attacking me and several other people who had commented in the post. The conversation is spread across a whole bunch of comments in the post and is very difficult to follow, but here is a snapshot of some of the things he said:

you're wrong, I'm right; deal with, you fucking loser

secondly; you want evidence? read my posts, you ignorant fuck

I tried engaging with him and trying to respond with reasonable replies and questions, but all he kept doing was swearing at me and spewing insults/vague allegations back.

I have continued to talk to him outside of this thread and we are on relatively good terms now. Also for the record, I never actually flagged him.

In my opinion though he was being fairly abusive and inconsiderate to people in the post (myself included).

I will likely lose my readers interest. At least with the audience that I am writing for..

as in; you're lying to get votes ... whale votes; you're part of the problem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68493.85
ETH 3838.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64