Upvote your own post? To vote or not to vote!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Because @jerrybanfield says so!

images.png

I feel a little embarrassed to upvote my own posts and It might feel a kind of narcissistic to upvote your own post AND comments. But if no one else does even if you create valuable and good content and spending hours on it than why not right? I have seem different opinions on this issue and I got confused.....To vote or not to vote.

But if everybody would do this than what? And imagine if @ned would do that.........WATCH THE VIDEO @jerrybansfield made and share your thought in the comments.

images.png

stp.JPG (2).png

picture:pixabay

Sort:  
Loading...

It is a difficult thing to decide, and a choice each individual needs to make. @r351574nc3 has some good points, and your vote is your vote. You can use it anyway you want. Nothing says you even need to vote on another persons content. It really depends on the communities and the groups you hang out with. I myself do not believe in self voting, though I have on a few occasions, less than a handful I believe.

The people I associate with also do not self vote, some of them in the past did, but no longer do. I myself may change my mind in the future as to how I use my votes, and who I vote for. I can tell you that I myself very rarely vote for an individual's comment that has upvoted themselves, no matter how good, and to the point a their comment was.

I, however, am not really a content producer, I see myself more as an audience member, and use my vote and comments to say, "Hey, I liked your style" type vote. I also tend to try and help the newer user on steemit, they only have 10-15 comments to use a day, a self vote is not going to give you any reward whatsoever. A vote on a comment that you read on another post may draw that commenter to your blog, to see what you have content wise. So what is the better spent vote? On yourself, or on someone that might come and see what you have to offer.

No real easy answers, nothing wrong with using your vote however you want. For now self votes are allowed, they are used by whales and by handshake clubs of vote 4 me I vote 4 You groups. At the end of the day, when you take that last look in the mirror, are you going to sleep well with the choices you made during the day.

The general consensus (very general!) - seems to be up-voting your own posts is fine - particularly if you are not super high ranked. With comments I've read different things - in general it's probably not necessary but sometimes you might have good reason to do so :)

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

Hi soma, exactly my idea. And I also heard different opinions but @jerrybanfield has a point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67