You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 30 Days on Steemit: Achievements & Appreciation

in #steemit7 years ago

These are awesome achivements, congratulations! I just realized that I also joined Steemit 30 days ago ;) The community is amazing! I've been a bit sceptical about writing contests, I admit, because it takes some time for me to kind of "settle" into a topic, scene, etc., and I came up a few times with something I didn't really like myself (and therefore didn't post). But maybe I should give it another try, sounds like you're the perfect example of how to succeed! Hope you'll continue your great journey here!

Sort:  

Are you in the Isle of Write or The Writer's Block on Discord? They're really amazing for writers! I understand that when it comes to stories, it's more investment than most poetry, but that shouldn't hold you back! At times, it's not about winning, but it's about getting out of our comfort zones - which in turn helps our writing!

Thanks a lot! I haven't really been on Discord so far, I'm still trying to find some kind of balance between my not-so-creative day job and "the rest". I've been writing forever, though, and published a few things, and so far I've posted a few stories I had already in my drawer (and there are still tons of them). Now that I think about it: I've had some good experiences with writing contests in my life, so I'm not really sure why I haven't entered one on Steemit yet ... I'll definitely give it a try! :)

Ah yeah... time is definitely an issue for a lot of us. I'm a student, so my time is more flexible, and I tend to procrastinate from my studies to spend more time on steemit; as well as working on future projects. Releasing another poetry collection in the coming weeks/months. That should tell you how much I lack priorities hahaha

LOL, that's awesome! I'm self-employed, which allows a lot of flexibility, but if there are projects going on, there's often not really space (also in my head) for creative stuff. But the day jobs also allow me to travel a lot (and write about my travels), so I'm not yet ready to give them up completely ;) From where I'm standing, your priorities are about perfect, btw ... if I could go back, I'm not even sure I would finish school, let alone university ... I started writing "seriously" when I was 14/15, and I've sometimes thought I should have really pursued it at that time instead of doing what was kind of expected of me. But, well, I'm doing it now, and regarding steemit, I'm a very patient person, so everything is fine :)

Well, I enjoy poetry to express myself, but I don't see it as viable to just do it. I really love psychology; and I would love to be involved in research. Part of research is learning and writing, so that's probably something I will love doing. If you get to travel a lot, I wouldn't quit that day job!!

That's great, and also funny, since I wanted to stay in research, too! It's so great to really dig into things and learn stuff. Do you have a particular field in psychology you're into? One of my day jobs is actually being an author for language learning and testing books, which is really not creative ... but I can do it anywhere (as long as there's wifi) and use the money for said travels, so you're absolutely right, I probably won't quit it soon. :)

The field I'm currently most interested in is cognitive neuroscience, or neuropsychology. Something along those links most probably.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56