You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stuck at 2100 ranking : how we can push steemit into the top 2000 on Alexa

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks for bringing up the issue of content @pennsif. When I first started out on steemit, I spent a good few days just looking and reading other's posts, to get an impression on the type of content is considered "quality". In previous blogs my posts were between 1000 and 2000 words long. Here, I decided to adopt shorter and more frequent posts. Not quite one-liners (though making good memes is an art in itself) but under thousand words. My recent ones however have all exceeded that limit, and the result can be seen: less visitors. So once again I'm thinking of reducing my lengthy articles, and maybe trying my luck with some memes... Hopefully quality ones, not the crap ones that look like they were thrown together in a haste, or the string of nonsense words in some exotic language. I guess I could do a Hungarian version of that, but then again, there are so many cooler things one can do.

Sort:  

Article length is something that gives me mixed emotions here on steemit.

On the one hand we are told that steemit values well written, fully researched, in depth articles. But on the other hand we can see many examples of people getting just as big rewards with very short posts of a few lines and a couple of photos.

Unless the payout period is lengthened to say one year to reward long articles that have a long term usefulness, the direction of travel will be towards the short, quick hit article. But that will just head steemit towards becoming just another Facebook look a like.

The effort v reward equation does have to kick in.

Heck this reply is probably longer than half the new posts that have gone out while I've been typing it 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51