Spam Comments - STOP !!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Spam-Comments.jpg

Well it appears there is a new growing trend of users posting pointless Spam comments.

Rubbish like: Great Post! : Awesome!.... All WORTHLESS CRAP !

Spam-Comments 1.JPG

In the above example you can see Five comments in Two Minutes.
Three of which are within One Minute.

If you actually take the time to READ only One of the Posts you would find that it takes longer than it did to comment on Five !

If you suspect anyone of posting this kind of Junk I would advise going to their Profile and checking their comments and Downvoting for serious offenders.

The platform won't grow if this becomes Epidemic.

Eventually we will be overrun with Bots simply posting Junk to make a few Cents.

Any CONSTRUCTIVE Comments always Welcome !!

TeamGB Footer.png

Sort:  

lol Actually thinking about it I would respect someone more if they did say. "Shit Post but i'm commenting just to make money" !! At least a little more thought has gone into it :-)

This has been a problem recently. Once something is in place to combat this like de-incentivizing the actions, taking the profit out of it would defiantly slow it down.

@blueorgy It feels like there is either a Bot or Bots that have been released or someone has made a dumb post saying that's how you build rep or make money. I'm sure it will get sorted one way or another or the platform will head down the Toilet and NONE of the genuine people want to see that happen.

I am your follower, and i saw your posts. you are doing good:) @ronaldmcatee

Thanks Buddy. Follow added in return :-)

keep posting man :)

I agree with you man! People should at least read the post before commenting!

@jwolf - Totally Agree. I'm guessing you make money from Comments and that is why they do it.
It doesn't seem worth it to me, but I guess there must be good money or nobody would bother.

Myself I am commenting to get more attention for my posts and I love learning stuffs daily. I am only one month old on Steemit and I am addicted!

Well it must work because you already have a higher Rep than me !! To be fair I did look through your posts / comments and now added a Follow as I like what I See ;-)

Thanks man, I am doing my best! I am too addicted to Steemit I think. Nice to meet you, I am a student, 21 years old from Romania :D

That's absolutely true if you want the platform to grow. But what about the bots which are existing, why not ban them. There shouldn't be any bot.

I usually write "Nice Pics" as a comment and I am not a bot as I love to see new images and seeing an image does not take much time.

Hope you agree!!!

@codingdefined Looking at your Replies they look very Spammy. I would Flag you for sure !
HOWEVER, because you have taken the time to write some constructive comments this is more like it.

It may only be One simple picture.
BUT make sure to not repeat the same thing over and over as you have done.
Try to type something simple even if it's only a couple of lines.

LOOK at the Picture. WHY? did you like it.
READ the post. WHY? did you like it.

Follow the simple guidelines and you will start to grow your Reputation.

Nice Pic :) Upvoted !!! Over and Over will get you Flagged and it sucks !

This is also a very valid point.

Great !!! Agreed. It's always nice to learn something new everyday.

There's no need to make such comments as that's the message the upvote conveys.

@marcusorlyius - I may be wrong, but I think it earns another "slice of the pie" or gives your initial Upvote more value by Commenting.

I don't understand how it works and to be honest I don't want to or it may start influencing the way I go about things.

However there is always someone out to make a quick profit.

Thanks for the comment it was bang on the money.

It doesn't give your upvote more weight but is does give you another chance to make money from people upvoting your comment. People don't usually upvote spammy comments like that though so it's pretty pointless making them.

The problem is even though you have upvoted, you will get unnoticed if you do not have much steem power which will give enough weightage for your upvote. I totally agree with you that spammy comment is bad, but what if you want to show your existance.

@codingdefined - If you want to show your Existance produce meaningful content or comments.
Don't get me wrong i'm no expert Curator or Post Creator but I do try to add value where I can.

It's difficult to make the correct decision sometimes, but as long as you take the information or Criticism on board you are doing your best.

@stormuk69 and @marcusorlyius Its good that we have to have the meaningful comment or the comment which brings the value to the post. But sometimes you just want to say wow looking at the pictures and nothing else.

I know we have a lot of bots out here which by doing spammy comments increasing its value but that doesn't mean that the real user will be penalised just by writing one or two words as a comment.

@codingdefined - Now take a look at your comments from my screenshot. It looks like Spam. Too many consistant posts of the same phrase.

spam 2.JPG

Compare this to my Comments where even if a word or Two it's never the same thing typed over and over.

@stormuk69 I appreciate your time to take a look at my comments, though one thing you missed that some comments have "Nice Pics" whereas others have "Nice pic", a bot wouldn't have done that. And also as per your main post In the above example you can see Five comments in Two Minutes. Three of which are within One Minute. this is not the case as per mine.

But thanks for pointing out, I will make sure to add more meaningful comments in future.

@codingdefined - I can see it wasn't a Bot with your account. I was just stating it could make it "Bot Like". This is the reason that I have upvoted your comments and not flagged them as Spam :-)

@codingdefined I agree with you. As the author, I like seeing appreciative comments, even ones that say convey a simple message. And I do this a lot myself, especially on photo blogs. I don't always have something deep and meaningful to add but I want the person to know I actually looked at the post and liked it. It wasn't just me voting via a trail.

@choogirl - Nothing wrong with simple comments.
It's just annoying when you check the history and it's a copy / paste of the same comment over and over within a very short space of time.

You can clearly see the difference and I would never penalise someone for saying Great Post or just a word or two.

I want the person to know I actually looked at the post and liked it.

And you thinking leaving a comment of "Nice pic" shows that? Do you have any idea how simple it would be to make a bot that posts such comments? Now, given that a user is posting the same crappy comment on multiple articles, the chances of them actually liking your article are slim to none. It's more likely they're running a bot to post that shit for them and are not even aware of the article you posted, never mind actually liking it. They're simply kissing your arse in the hopes that you upvote them.

As an author, I couldn't give a flying fuck about "appreciative comments" which simply waste my time. I'm not a 5 year old that needs a pat on the head and a gold star for being a good little boy. I like the comments that disagree with what I have to say and provide reasoned arguments as to why they disagree. I love heated debate and can't stand people trying to kiss my arse.

Jeez! Calm down mate. I wasn't looking for a fight.

Making spammy comments may get you noticed but that's not the type of attention you want and is likely to get you flagged and muted.

If you want to be noticed in a good way then the least you can do is put a scrap of effort into making your comment. It's also far more likely to make you money as people are going to vote for comments that even the dumbest bot could make.

I support. Let's live in a clean ecosystem

I couldn't agree with you more... LETS !

Congratulations @stormuk69! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

i know all of your posts are wonderful, and i read them @ronaldmcatee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51