Witness me witnessing a new witness!

in #steemit6 years ago

@gmuxx
Source

He's only gone and done it...

My BFF @GMuxx is a witness!
Announcement Here

He's a what now?

Witnesses are what makes Steemit tick. They produce "blocks", which as I understand it are incremental backups of the blockchain, storing everything that has happened since the last block. In return for this they get a small amount of steem to cover their server costs.

So he's rich then?

Not quite. There are lots of witnesses and only the highest ranking ones get the honour of producing blocks, the rest are there as backup. Also I know that the server costs aren't small, the processing power and memory required dwarf the server that I run multiple high traffic websites from.

Okay, I get that, but who is he?

You've not heard of the mighty Sir @GMuxx?
I first met him about 2 weeks after coming to Steemit, when he posted up some 3D Star Wars ship designs and we got talking. He dragged me into MSP where we had lots of fun. That's where we parted ways, he became a moderator and I just got way too busy in real life.

Now I'm back and @GMuxx has moved on from moderating MSP to running, with @rhondak, The Writer's Block. It's a community for aspiring authors to share stories and help each other improve, and also a great place for a chat!

He's also one half of the Shane and Muxxy Show, a radio show well worth tuning in to.

Why are you telling me all of this?

Well, he's just become a witness and in order to cover his costs he has to improve his rankings. How do you rank up? Well it's based on votes, and he needs YOUR help!

And remember, a vote for @GMuxx is a vote for the Dark Side, I mean, erm, for tea and crumpets and rainbow unicorns. Seriously though, he's a top bloke, VERY community orientated and even if you don't vote for him give his posts a read - see the good work he does.

Enough backside romancing now, he'll get all big headed. Go vote for the old git to stop him moaning ;)

Sort:  

It's fun to hear another side of the story. @gmuxx is awesome. If I could vote twice, I would!

This made me chuckle. Thanks so much for your awesome support dude.

I was with you until you mentioned 'backside romancing'. Not words I want to hear in a discussion about @gmuxx.

Still...I voted for him.

It was the nicest way I could think of putting "kissing butt" :P

witnessing you witnessing a new witness ;)
already voted for him yesterday, but still nice to see @gmuxx rising in popularity...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90