[Bookmark This] Why I Joined Steemit Today and how to lose 2000 BTC Quickly!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Welcome, and Thank You

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to stop and read my insight into why I have joined the Steemit community.

Too many people forget to take a moment and thank others for their time; so I truly do appreciate you spending your time with me today.

So lets get into the juicy part first...

My Next Story: How I Bought A $20 Domain Name and Sold It For $4500 Within a Week!

How To Lose 2000 BTC.

I don't suggest you do this, but then again your opportunity to do this has also passed. I came across BTC in early 2011 on a hackers website. They were accepting donations in BTC, so I searched and found a BTC wallet service that just so happened to be giving away 2000 free BTC to sign up with their service.

I joined, and was promptly rewarded with 2000 BTC; which at the time couldn't buy anything whatsoever. It was satisfying seeing these little digital nuggets appear in front of me, they were mine and I was their owner.

So how did I lose my precious new trinkets? The problem lies where most people find loss; relationships and love.

You see, when I found BTC I was using my ex-girlfriends computer. I often used her computer because I was searching the dark parts of the internet for information and could wipe it easily without the loss of anything important if infected with a virus. After all, she only used her computer to watch bad movies from the 80's - 90's on Netflix. It was 2011... that's all Netflix had that was available!

By 2012 we were long broken up, and that BTC installation was long forgotten.

Then I heard the news... BTC was $5 USD+. Those free digital nuggets were now worth $10k, but they were on HER computer.

The breakup was not on good terms, and my online business was doing well, so I did what any self respecting person would do; I kept the knowledge of the 2k BTC to myself.

As time went by the $10k turned into $20k, then into $100k, then at the peak of BTC those 2000 coins amounted to $1.8 million USD.

Silence Is Not So Golden

Still, I said nothing. I will continue to say nothing till this day, because by now that computer has probably been thrown out and mistreated a thousand times over. I was constantly repairing the LCD screen from 'drops' and replacing the keyboard due to careless spills.

If it does exist, how would I even approach that situation in a way that would benefit me? I can just see it now, "hey, I know it's been 5 years but I can I check your computer for a file I lost." That wouldn't send up a red flag at all!

So What Does This Have To Do With Steemit?

As it just so happens, I once again have decided to start digging around in the lesser indexed portions of the internet and I have come across this interesting community of ideas and people.

Back in 2011, I did not value the BTC that I came across. Had I done so, I would be a few million dollars richer.

I may not become a millionaire by participating on Steemit but I really like the idea behind what this community has to offer. So I picked the best user name I could think of, that was available, and I am excited to start participating in this community.

This time I am using my own computer!

So would you have done the same thing?
Did I do the right thing?
Margot Robbie or Margot Kidder?


Let's Conversate.

Top Trending Stories
#1: How I Bought A $20 Domain Name and Sold It For $4500 Within a Week!
#2 How To: Transfer Files Fast On a Mac
See All Stories: @Store Blog

Sort:  

wellcome

Makes me ashamed I fretted over the loss of 13 bicoins on mtGox. Are you hoping Margot reads this? Is that the girlfriend who is now married?

I am sorry to hear that; what a fiasco the mtGox collapse was. No matter how much we all lose, we are all "Three Feet From Gold". There is a book with that title; I recommend it as a read.

I had a similar scenario happen to me, but it was only the Bitcoin I got back in 2010 for signing up.

We blazed the trail, then went full throttle off the cliff! I shed a tear for our BTC yachts that never were.

I will continue to say nothing till this day, because by now that computer has probably been thrown out"

"If it does exist, how would I even approach that situation in a way that would benefit me?" - oo, only you, right ?

How about talking like adults ?
Invite her to a coffee and talk. Plain and simple. Tell your BTC history, but without specifying the numbers</>.

It's up to you to tell the numbers or not. Or to tell another numbers. If the computer is alive it's fair to make an financial arrangement that pleases both.

For me it's like this:

We have a treasure. she knows the place, I have the key. We can find a compromise. We can negotiate.

And I'm not talking about awkwardness, relations (her current boyfriend), feelings. These are also important. Maybe more. :) It all depends on your age and your expectations.

Cheers.

I can understand that friend. It would have been nice to amicably sit down and work something out, however since it was up to me I would rather lost it all than to split it. For someone who wasn't very nice to profit substantially from my efforts is not something I was interested in. Ideas and opportunities are plentiful, and surround us all; I'll just catch the next one and have a clear conscience ;)

And why don't you just buy her computer ?

That would arouse suspicion. Plus that is a bit odd. I'm more than okay with just leaving it be :)

"I have a software licence on this computer. I installed a program that I don't want now to buy it again. Also, my profile is here. It's important for me now. Can we make an arrangement if it's ok with you ?"

Wow, I have not seen 1BTC on my walllet... :)

Holy Sh#$it!! Now I feel better about my recent 4.1 btc loss but it never hurts to ask. Even though you might have to swallow your pride I think 2000 BTC is worth it. My girl fiend and I broke up over a year ago and I still have her ancient computer in my apartment. If she came to me and asked for it back I would give it to her no problem. If she told me there were 2000 btc on it I would do what any self respecting ex would do I would just say "give me half".

So many BTC loss stories! Sorry to hear you lost some as well; even 4 BTC can go a long way. When STEEM is $300 per we shall have a meetup and laugh about our losses!

@store Indeed we will. That would be rad.

i too was into BTC pretty early, but i was a miner and over the few years i did it i went through literally thousands of BTC but i always ran with the belief that for it to work people have to spend it, so i did on just about anything and everything i could find, in total ive very likely had over 10000BTC pass through my hands including one physical cassascius coin (which was actually one of the first run with a misprint, this too was sold at what was far too little really, i got a few hundred quid for it, but bills had to be paid) but of all the things i ever bought one always sticks in my mind and that was paying 40BTC for a 250g bag of coffee, by todays standards that was some pricey brew!

on your story id say dont give up so easily, sure you broke up on bad terms but im sure that would be overlooked rather rapidly if you asked if she had the PC still and if it is on there and recoverable you will split the profits of it with her, she may say no, or even lie and say she doesnt have it and pocket the lot, but she may also say yes, if you dont try youll never know, theres nothing to lose and a whole lot to potentially gain

2000 coins would be worth $8 million now,probably should have mentioned it to her.Somewhere there is $8 million just laying on a computer...that's nuts ,puts my financial problems in perspective...

Thanks for the post!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61475.37
ETH 2485.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61