What Is Really Important On Steemit And What Is Bullshit?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Grab a drink and maybe a seat, because at the end of this post one of two things will happen, you’ll either like or hate my post and or me. Ready?

Let me begin with the “niceties”. Steemit is one hell of a platform, or at least one that can still be one. It seems like everything in which money and influence has been involved, a lot of people have morphed it into something else. Although I’m new here, I’d gather to say that, like most, I am a big believer in opportunity. The possibility for so many that have never had any money, or even had the opportunity to be paid for their time and input by any company, mean something. A chance for those at the “bottom” to make an impact and have some sort of growth. My question then is this: Is Steemit the growth platform that it started out to be? My opinion is: maybe.

Much is being said about providing “quality content” but where is it? Is it on Steemit? Yes it is. Quality however is in the eye of the beholder (reader) and like beauty, a fleeting thing. As far as I know, quality content and (better yet ORIGINAL QUALITY CONTENT) is the golden standard. So why then are so many minnows having such a hard time breaking through the Steemit glass ceiling? Perhaps it’s because Steemit has to go through its growing phase. OR MAYBE BECAUSE BULLSHIT IS BEING REWARDED IN LIEU OF GOOD CONTENT?

I’ve seen many posts that are terrific (again the eye..remember?) In my opinion, and probably a good deal of others posts about dudes smoking dope is not quality. I’m sorry, but I can’t see any site really thinking of that as quality. Or a picture with three words attached. Or someone posting the same content over and over. What will be the standards of so called quality, if your quality is based on someone’s ability TO BUY influence or to be awarded influence based on followers? Steem will be the one to pay the price. It’s paying it now.

There are whales, and “wanna” be whales fighting over who writes a better post, why are they not getting paid as much as so and so, and more. These are the same ones who are supposed to show the minnows “how it’s done”. Think again. Greed is corrupting this platform.

We’re reading about why it’s so uncool to upvote yourself, yet so many
have done it. There is even an option for it. So why is it now so evil? So many have paid themselves doing it, all of a sudden it’s frowned upon? I call bullshit.

We, the small minnows like myself, may be new to the platform, but not new to life. Like I tell people “ I’m new here, but old in hell”. I’ve lived in the ghetto and I’ve known millionaires. Guess what? Bullshit on both smell the same.

In the current downtrend for cryptocurrency, many have been losing hope. It’s something that I tell them not to lose. I only hope that we can get past the pettiness and backbiting. Yes, Steemit isn’t as powerful as Facebook but one day it will be, if we believe in Steemit and each other enough. Steemit has to do its part. If people are having issues, it’s not for “The Whales” to make more guilds and platforms that benefit their greed. Some Whales I’ve seen are helping and doing the very best they can. To them I give my thanks, as I do to the Minnows, Dolphins and Red Fish (if they still exist).

Will Steemit have to take away the power of flagging in fear that it is or will be abused? Don’t like what I’m saying…downvote me. Don’t like the fact I made 100 Steem, downvote me? Don’t like my political views…downvote me? You think I’m making too much money on a post..downvote me. See my point? There should be CLEAR GUIDELINES on what is acceptable…not based on personal conflicts, but genuine concern for the well being of all on this site. Will there be only a few handful of really non self promoting individuals who will have the ability to flag? Or will the egos continue to grow out of control?

SO YES…I’M CALLING BULLSHIT. Sue me.

Sort:  

I can tell you there is a lot that goes into, who gets seen, and who does not..

Think about someone that has 4000 followers, and someone that has 40.
Guess which one gets seen?

It does take a while.
Then, you have authors, and you have investors, you have commenters.
And they all have their biases, and some of those biases are more pronounced in last 3 weeks.
As well, bitcoin has a crisis it will have to overcome in next 30 days.
So it's a bit choppy on the seas; it's not a huge storm either..

True, and it is still a fairly up and coming platform. We'll ride it out, as a society we're good at that. Still, there will be some big changes coming. It's inevitable.

Truth hurts! This post touched on a lot of subjects which are now affecting the Steemit community. Hopefully, we can all help to grow this community in the way that it was intended to...to share and distribute the wealth. If not , then all we can do is our best in investing in the platform and growing from that stance. Thanks for this truthful post!

We can only strive to make this platform better. It's going to take a while and more than that, people that are willing to SPEAK the truth for the sake of what Steemit can become.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67422.69
ETH 3492.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70