ARE YOU AFRAID OF THE DARK??!? @stevenjmagner

in #steemit7 years ago

dinowars-1.jpg

What is the weirdest thing you have ever stumbled upon in the dark? Other people? Strange animals? How about an entire art exhibit?

Last month my wife and I visited Borrego Springs to see Ricardo Breceda’s sculptures underneath the twinkling of stars on a warm summer night. I had never been to this location before and I don’t advise stumbling in the desert after midnight to find compositions, but I had seen some of the art on the internet and was hoping that was good enough to navigate the lands...

My goal was to use the milky way to bring these beautiful sculptures to life. How did I do?

⌁ Location: Borrego Springs, CA
⌁ Date: June 18th, 2017
⌁ Camera: @canonusa Canon 6D
⌁ Lens: @sigmaphoto Sigma 24mm f/1.4 ART
⌁ Filter: @hoyafilterusa Hoya Intensifier
⌁ 20 seconds
⌁ f/2.0
⌁ 24mm
⌁ ISO 6400
⌁ 22 frames stacked and pano’d out
=================================
If you like my work and want to see more please check out my Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/stevenjmagner/

borrego_horses-1.jpg
⌁ Camera: @canonusa Canon 6D
⌁ Lens: @sigmaphoto 24mm f/1.4 ART
⌁ Filter: @hoyafilterusa Intensifier
⌁ Tripod: @manfrottoimaginemore 055 & 410 Geared Head
⌁ 15 Seconds
⌁ f/2.0
⌁ 16mm
⌁ ISO 6400
⌁ WB Auto
⌁ 15 photo pano blend

camels-1.jpg
⌁ Camera: @canonusa Canon 6D
⌁ Lens: @sigmaphoto 24mm f/1.4 ART
⌁ Filter: @hoyafilterusa Intensifier
⌁ 20 Seconds
⌁ f/2.0
⌁ 24mm
⌁ ISO 6400
⌁ WB Auto
⌁ 9 photos blended in Starry Landscape Stacker, processed in Lightroom and Photoshop

serpentking-1.jpg
⌁ Camera: @canonusa Canon 6D
⌁ Lens: @canonusa 16-35mm f/2.8L USM
⌁ Filter: @hoyafilterusa Intensifier
⌁ 20 Seconds
⌁ f/2.8
⌁ 17mm
⌁ ISO 6400
⌁ WB Auto
⌁ 9 photos blended

Sort:  

Absolutely amazing! In the unlikely event that you tire of photography you might like to try wax painting. Basically you iron on and blend melted wax which can make beautiful backgrounds, applied over the top of strong silhouettes.

Scariest thing i have ever encountered in the dark was a piece of LEGO

@byronviljoen you just reminded me of my childhood. THOSE SUCK!

Thanks Mel! When you going to join me on one of these shoots? :)

Incredible low light photography at its finest. Still learning the art of being able to get such shots with my cropped frame DSLR with its crappy stock lens.

Well done

Depending on what camera you have you should be fine @bitfairy! The lens though may be holding you back.

I plan on buying macro lens and one for those lovely bokeh

I wish I had a macro lens myself :(

My daughter is the weirdest thing I ever ran into in the dark. I got up in the middle of the night to adjust the thermostat. I thought she was in her bed. I came from direction and she had come from another to adjust the thermostat too. It was PITCH DARK and I couldn't see ANYTHING in front of me because I had just come out of the bathroom with a bright light. I bumped into her but I thought it was a ghost because I just knew she was still in bed. I screamed and she laughed because the scream was delayed because my mind was trying to process what in the world I could have run into if she was still in bed. It was just creepy.

@amarie lol, yeah I tend to sneak up on my wife in the apartment at night when she's least expecting it. She says I'm taking years off her life... ;)

Beautiful shots, what is weirdest thing you have ever stumbled upon in the dark? Getting ran over by a deer. About a 2 decades ago, when I deer hunted, I heard something near my Grandpas chicken coop, which is entirely fenced of in a region on his farm. When I went to the opening of the fence, doe jumped over my head, knocked my hat off and I fell back on my ass. Never going to live that one down, still bring it up to this day with various outdoorsmen, yet no one believes me. Never seen a ghost or UFO, persay, but be interesting to see one, one day...

@covertchronicle haha scared you away from shooting at them anymore!

I like how you show the details of the camera exposure and ISO and all that. Plus, the pictures themselves aren't bad either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66