What is Witness Voting on Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

What does Witness Voting mean?

Witness Voting means nothing more than that YOU have some power over which user contributes most.

What are Witnesses?

Witnesses are members of Steem running nodes to confirm post entries into the Steem Blockchain. The system wouldn't work without them. You can vote for 30 witnesses (check their witness posts). The witnesses with the most votes get the most rewards.

Where can I find Witness Voting?

You've probably already figured out that there is a menu on the right of your screen, which hides many options including the #Steemit Start Guide, FAQ, Steemit Chat. Next to these options, you'll notice that there is a link to Witness Voting.

Direct link to Witness Voting: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Check it out and help the people who are spending many hours on improving Steem and making this a success!

Sort:  

How come everyday I log into Steemit, my 30 allowable votes are all erased? I spend so much time pouring through my options. Yet the next day if i select "witness voting" I notice all 30 of my votes are available again!! Ah!!! I can't do this everyday ffs....;) Your guidance would be much appreciated, thank you for your post!

Thank you for the info. I didn't even know "witness voting" was a thing.

I know, I also just discovered it but I think the guys who put so much effort in should get something back. That's why I immediately made this post to inform everyone who didn't know about it yet -like you and me - so we can keep supporting them to do great things. Keep it up guys!

How did you receive so many votes on that comment?

If you post/comment on eSteem you sometimes get a voting trail from the app creator @good-karma

Hey @sarasate can you tell both of us on how to use voting trail?

Checkout Streemian, they provide these services. Its actually called 'Curation trail'. You have to register there, send some money (0.001 SBD) and give them access to your steem account (posting)

See Steem Docs for more projects..

wow thanks a bunch sarasate i'll check out steem docs

Signing up seems a bit .. shady. There's 2 methods:

  1. The Streemian Unlock app: doesn't work
  2. The Steem JS Auth App: asks for master/active key, while a posting key should suffice

Probably nothing shady, but I will never give my active key to any developer platform other than Steemit itself.

Ok, I didn't try it further than registering. I'll check the next days.. Let you know..
Not a good idea to share an active key..

Thanks for the information. Clear and simple. A Steemit user I came across asked to witness vote. So I was wondering what that was about. I liked his content, so I'm gonna do that now. Thanks again and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.79
ETH 3156.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56