You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Anarcho Capitalism: Killing The Ignorant - Very Short, Very Readable - 1 min #steemit - #anarchism

in #steemit8 years ago

Hey Positive! Nice to meet you.

However, I am saddened by your depiction of anarcho-capitalists. Methinks you haven't been around a lot of them. Your sweeping generalization about anarcho-capitalists wanting to kill all dissent and horde resources is woefully inaccurate.

If you believe it is accurate, can you point out a decent number of self-proclaimed anarcho-capitalists who have suggested that or made that their clear intention?

I am curious, so this should be a good chance at some reality testing for both of us.

Sort:  

I've been involved in crypto since '11. You're right, they all sound nice.

I've witnessed these same "nice" people pump coins under false pretenses, encourage people to dump their pensions in the coin, then hard dump the coins.

Same thing has happened for 4 years.

I don't trust them because unrestrained rationality is dangerous.

Being a puppet in someone else's game isn't quite rational either. Now while I don't fully agree with "anarcho-capitalism" because I think there is still a long way to go before that could even be realistically happen and even if it did how would we make it work exactly... BUT with that being said the way things are today with big government ripping apart every part of our lives isn't working either. For me personally I am much more trusting of people that think human interactions should be voluntary and PEACEFUL, and people that believe you should do one to others as you would want done to yourself rather than to trust someone that believes people should be put in cages for life for non violent "crimes", or that 50% of my hard earned money should be stolen from me and given to psychopaths to do what they want with.

I really hope you have a chance to read the book. Elected politicians have power only in fiction in democratic systems, their influence is constrained by the fact they need popular vote to retain office. There is literally not much they can do.

I am genuinely frightened by the idea of a human being claiming the right to 'govern' me and decide what I may or may not do out of context of my own agreement (Like how I agree to terms and conditions when I buy a company's product). Whether this claim is disguised by the concept of 'popular vote' or some other concept makes no difference. It does not change the fundamental fact of the claim itself, and what the claim implies - ie that I am not sovereign, and my physical body (and by extension it's products) are owned by another. The manner in which decisions are made in regards to this ownership is once again quite irrelevant to the fact of this ownership. (Note that I have not provided here an argument for why owning human beings is immoral, I assume the reader already maintains a belief that ownership of human beings is in some capacity immoral) - All that said good job catching my attention with this article positive.

I trust democratic government more than anarcho capitalism for one simple reason.
Those in power are empowered by the people.

Even if they get in power through manipulation, reliance on popular vote is a vulnerability from their perspective.

It means they must make decisions that assuage the masses to stay in power. Professor Bruno de Mesquita wrote an excellent short book on this topic.

I think that statement may have been true at some point in time I don't think it is anymore. There is a good quote by Franklin Roosevelt saying "In politics, nothing happens by accident. If it happens, you can bet it was planned that way." and I think that statement today is more true than ever. I think it's quite a stretch to think that our top "elected" officials are elected by popular vote in my opinion. But I will gladly read that book! Thank you for the recommendation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62