You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nihilist Takes on Msgivings and SBD payouts; Take another Look and See What You Think Now

in #steemit8 years ago

For most people, it's kind of like playing the lottery with scratch-off tickets here. I'm talking the average user. You may or may not get some money, but you won't get ANY if you don't play. And, your chances of making money here by investing some time, thought, and energy into a post or comment is actually higher than winning money on the lottery. And, you get to play for free. :)

That's just fine by me, and makes me satisfied and happy writing here. I don't make as much here as I do with my freelance writing clients, but I mainly write here for fun, just as I play the lottery for fun. I sometimes get a small payout on the lottery, but I've easily made a dozen or more times more money on Steemit in the six weeks I've been here than I've ever made on all my lottery plays combined.

The larger accounts and the founders can do what they like. They created this platform and invested a ton of money in it. I don't begrudge them wanting to get the most out of it they are able. The fact I make some decent side cash here, too, is just icing on the cake for me.

Sort:  

I like the lottery comparison. There's no easy money. So the seconds it takes to get a ticket and the huge payoff definitely ends up being a "tax on the hopeful/poor"

The Steemit community is great and there's so many interesting posts and comments now, I think it's developing it's own value. Only time will tell us how the distribution of rewards will work out and if the majority of Steemit users with "blog, get paid" on a regular basis.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61008.54
ETH 2713.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44