STEEMIT: Three words that elevate Steemit above other existing Social Media platforms..... transparency, transparency, transparency..!!

in #steemit7 years ago

TRANSPARENCY, TRANSPARENCY, TRANSPARENCY..!!

I have just come of the telephone having had a long conversation with a good friend and business associate of mine who called me after seeing a few of my recent blogs on LinkedIn.

We have known each for nearly 6 years after being introduced by a mutual friend while I was on the lookout for someone to help me on a project I was involved in.

We share the same technical mindset and it was this shared mindset that first brought us together in 2011.

The telephone call was solely about Steemit and lasted for well over an hour.

During the conversation the word “transparency” kept coming up, over and over again, and it is this that I wanted to share with you.

The call was prompted by the recent batch of LinkedIn posts that I have shared where I have blogged about the growth of Steemit, in particular the recent number of high volume Daily Transactions that have occurred.

He asked where the information had come from and I told him that it is available for anyone to get, and it was this that appealed to him the most and was what I wanted to share with you.

We both agreed that unlike existing Social Media sites the data held on the Steem/Steemit Blockchain is totally transparent and even though some users choose to use a pseudonym name to disguise their personal identity you can still see exactly what they are doing.

It was this that we both believe will be the uniqueness of Steemit that will elevate it above the current existing platforms.

We are living in an age of secrecy when in reality what we share publicly should not be a secret but should be in reality available to anyone.

As more people realise that Steemit is an open and transparent platform where users cannot hide what they are saying and doing, free from advertising restrictions, limitations, censorship and controls, not forgetting the fact that they are being rewarded for the efforts then Steemit will explode.

People should not underestimate the powerful message of "transparency" sends out now that we are living in a time of Social Media abuse.

Thanks again for reading.

Stephen

Sort:  

In the midst of transparency there is signs for privacy, otherwise encrypted private messages! Transparency AND Privacy! WIN WIN!:
https://steemit.com/steem/@dantheman/how-to-encrypt-a-memo-when-transferring-steem
and this

TRANSPARENCY is the first beam to be laid while building a bridge of TRUST...(my 2 cents). :-*

"TRANSPARENCY is the first beam to be laid while building a bridge of TRUST".... some things are worth repeating..!! I could not have put it any better myslef. Stephen

Yeah, transparency on Steemit is everywhere. When I signed up here, I was a bit confused by this feature, I even thought it was a temporary bug :)))

It will be this transparency characteristic that will change Social Media FOREVER..!! I would much rather be on a platform that is totally transparent than one that "shareholders" dictate what people see and not see..!! Stephen

I have to admit a transparent bridge scares the hell out of me.
But we live and learn I suppose.
1glassbridgeca367.jpg

@stephenkendal thanks for always being TRANSPARENT!

Yes. EVERYTHING is completely knowable, anyone can check wallets, who voted what...etc Steemit is AWESOME! Spread the word.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83