No Cell Phone, No Steemit.

in #steemit7 years ago

I wonder how many people this has happened to.

I wrote someone a reply saying they might be interested in checking out steemit and this is the reply from a random person seeing my comment.

Capture+_2017-09-04-22-28-32.png

I know I can delegate steem power to them or give them the 6 steem but this was just a random person sharing their first encounters with steemit.

How many more people are not being allowed to sign up because they don't have a cell phone?

How many people could really use the steem they would earn if they could get an account, but can't because they don't own a cellphone. Maybe they don't even have a computer of their own but have access to one they would use to make posts. And maybe the first thing they want to buy with their first bit of steem is a cellphone.

There should be another way to verify, especially since your email is also verified. I also noticed (first hand experience) you can only use your phone number once.

It wasn't a big deal for me trying to create a second account for my kid, but if you lost your account keys you can't even start over unless you have a new phone number.

So,

No cell phone, no steemit.

Anyone else run into this problem yet?

Sort:  

Point well made. I guess the other option is to buy an account - this is taken from the Steemit FAQs

There is a third-party tool called AnonSteem that accepts bitcoin, Litecoin, STEEM, or SBD to anonymously create a Steem account. You do not need to have an existing Steem blockchain account to use the service, but there is a charge on top of the blockchain account creation fee for using the service.

There is also a third-party tool called SteemConnect that allows you to create accounts by paying or delegating the account creation fee. There is no additional fee to use the service, but does require an existing Steem blockchain account to pay the account creation fee to create the account.

I've used steemconnect and this would be good for family and friends, but not the random people that stumble across steemit (like I did last year). They won't take the time to go through any of that. If there is problems at the sign up, and steemit is telling them they need a cellphone number, most people won't continue to read through the FAQ section.

I didn't know about AnonSteem. That's good to know there is at least something for people who want to pay and who are aware they can.

True - I can see this posing a problem. E.G People just giving up trying to join because they haven't got a cell phone. But where there's a will there's a way I suppose, and I can understand steemit not wanting to have people with multiple accounts spamming the feeds.

It's not just cell phone. Some email are not working well even with cell phone verified. I heard people waiting for a month.

Good post, good point.

wow. good observation. thats really bad.

Couldn't they get a number through google hangouts?

I would think that should work as they are already online with a computer.

It does seem like quite the PITA to get signed up. I guess since $$ is involved they need it like that. But there has to be another way to get these other people on board the STEEM TRAIN!! 😜

Yes, you are right @stephen.king989. Before I have my current steemit account, I've registered another account. But I lost the password, and I had to create a new one with different email and phone numbers.

Congratulations @stephen.king989! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

extraordinary posting is very cool.wajar people like your posts including me who always follow your post .memjoto own motofasi for me.dan I try to share your post to another friend.and if do not mind visit and vote my posting.

Follow me @imranroza

https://steemit.com/life/@imranroza/kesuksesan-berasal-dari-kebiasaan-baik-201797t105549545z

Congratulations @stephen.king989! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11