Whats up with these downvotes?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

IMG_0048.PNG

So I was waiting for my first curation awards from an up vote of this story by @dollarvigilante
It was well over $600 and then all of a sudden it went down to about $200

WTF!?

So I checked out steemd to see what was happening.
To my suprise I found all these people in the picture downvoting him at the same time!

Is this normal?

Is steemit a scam or what?
Makes me wonder...

Sort:  

Jeff is the most controversial person on Steemit - he has his haters.

Last August it was him that introduced Steemit to thousands of new people, which is why so many people (like myself) started in August.

There are bots set up to downvote against him.

Steemit definitely isn't a scam but there are still some very petty minded people who have more power than ideal.

Thanks for the explanation.
He introduced me too! 😀

Not sure if anyone has already mentioned this or not but a few months ago some whales got together and decided they were going to downvote other whales because most of the voting pool was being drained by these whales.

So by downvoting these whale it gave everyone else a bigger chunk of the voting pool.

For example before the downvoting I had 1500 steem power and my up vote along was worth zero cents. Now I have 1900 steem power and my vote is worth around three cents. Lots of people hated it at first and didn't understand but as soon people saw their posts earning more without a whale then it was ok.

Most of the whales have stepped back and let everyone else use up the voter pool. the ones that do still votes use a fraction of their voting power.

hmmm strange. Looks like he made a lot of enemies. or a bot of enemies probably haha!

Why would anyone read your story? To have sympathy for you? The only thing I know about you is that you are the guy spamming this link. It sucks you feel that you got scammed, but can't the legal system take care of that for you? I you feel that by reading your story, I will come to hate/dislike/down vote TDV your crazy. I would never speak against or for someone, I never met personally.

Yeah crazy bots taking over 😜

Jeff gets a lot of haters.

But all at the same time?
What do they gain by doing that? 🤔

manipulation. i don't know......

I actually happen to know a bit about this.

Unfortunately Jeff Berwick has a reputation, there's a lot of rumours that he's been involved in scams and so on, generally shady sounding shit. Either way there hasn't been a vast amount of evidence to support either side so I'm fairly neutral on the subject but that might explain why people have taken it upon themselves to attack him.

This should at least go to some way of explaining why they're doing this, the problem is as well he will inevitably like Peter Schiff for example have ideological opponents who hate his guts and just want to cause trouble.

The charges are by the way if you're wondering and if I remember this correctly he has had a dodgy passport company in the past where he supposedly helps people get set up in various countries for money, I don't know how true it all is though.

How can someone down vote? I'm new.

You just hit the same button you hit when you upvote 😉

Isnt flagging considered down voting?

No thats something else.
These guys/bots in the picture upvoted Dollar Vigilante's post and then removed it a few minutes before payout.
They had ALOT of Steem Power.

Removing a vote is considered Down Voting?

Yeah now I'm getting confused, haha
Seems like you are correct, if you click upvote button again it register as un-vote.
So I guess the flag is downvote?
What the hell someone needs to explain this in a video 😝

I never heard of a down-vote until now... I'll have to check it out...
@pocketechange

Found a funny article about it from 9 months ago Down Vote Abuse
So I guess I was running to conclutions and it has been going on for a long time...
But I guess you can't get away from trolls 🤔😬
Even this lovely community is not safe ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55