You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A MESSAGE TO THE WHALES FROM THE KING OF STEEMIT!

in #steemit7 years ago

perfect analogy to doge. You and I are on the same page completely.

Sadly, I don't think there is anything the devs can do about it. They can't disallow people from creating accounts, otherwise the platform won't grow. There really is no way technologically of remedying this situation as far as I can see.

Sort:  

I think the only way to remedy this is by use of digital identities. Maybe some collaboration with Civic or similar projects. If we can limit the system to 1 account per person that should fix some of the problems.

But I am doubtful this will happen anytime soon, if ever, because digital identities aren't quite there yet.

I also wonder.. if you can just make many accounts, what's to stop somebody from self-voting themselves into Witnesses? Take that one step further: What's to stop somebody from self-voting multiple of their own witness accounts into power?
Take that one step further: what's to stop somebody from taking over the entire system this way over time? Game theory says that if it's possible and profitable, it will happen one day.

I wish I could give you 100 upvotes right now

Haha, I'm happy to receive one too! thanks!

Very interesting! Probably that's the problem that none of the website of the same group grow on their coins value: becaue their is manipulation. Wow! I think they have to put an end to that because as soon as people notice it, they will be leaving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43