A MESSAGE TO THE WHALES FROM THE KING OF STEEMIT!

in #steemit7 years ago

This software will only gain mainstream adoption if all content is valued.

Currently you whales are only giving value to cryptocurrency and steemit (C&S) related content. Because you all control so much of the steemit economy everyone is following suit. This is creating a self fulfilling closed loop, whereby new users are incentivized to create and upvote C&S posts, creating new C&S posts, and more value in this content, for new users to see and begin the cycle anew. This is driving away multitudes of potential users and content creators and it needs to stop if we are ever to achieve mass adoption.

I'm here to lead the charge toward real content gaining momentum on this blockchain and refuse to yield to posting C&S content, even though the majority of my knowledge and interest lies in these topics and it is obviously a more lucrative strategy.

It is imperative that the whales follow suit in curating appropriately. I'm not asking for my content to be curated. I'm informing you that your steem will rise in value if you break this cycle and explore other areas of content because more accounts will come, and will stay if they see that all content is valued, not just steem specific content. I fear that it may be too late for this ecosystem however, as I suspect many whales are up voting with bots, and the most logical and lucrative place to upvote would be in C&S content.

Sort:  

Totally agree. It is awesome we havr posts on C and S as they are useful. But all topics need some valuable upvotes. My 100% vote is about 0.10c and I try to spread it in lots of areas.

You're one of the few doing service to steemit. I would consider your account more of a dolphin though right? It's the whales we need to convince of this fact as they hold disproportionate influence on the platform.

Oh for sure. I am no whale, just trying to spread the wealth! :)

And I appreciate it! no doubt about it. Thank you

This is a great notice and message. We need more people to come on the platform, and stay. Not just to open an account but they have to stay and use the platform. It will be great if all aspect is valued, that is what social media is meant for. Many people= many area of interest.

Exactly! With the new dtube platform this may help the problem

This post has received a 8.19 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @steemking777.

I'll throw my support in as well. It's really annoying to see this perpetual cycle.

Sadly, I believe this message has being drowned out on the appropriate channels. Maybe it's pointless. I'm going to keep trying though because I think steem is a great idea. It's almost there, just lacking in a few details, such as this one.

I think you need about twice as many followers as you have, in order to have any kind of reach on this platform. I'm in the same boat as you.
So I started to follow you, you'll be 1 step closer to getting there :)
Feel free to follow back, I don't spam and post mostly cryptocurrency related stuff.

Yeah. It looks like we're both still relatively new here. Well, hopefully we'all both keep growing and effect the change we want to see

Lol, now I feel bad for making a few posts about Crypto (with one or 2 more planned).

I have been trying to recruit game devs onto the platform, and as many people as I can really.

As have I! and that's how I noticed the problem I'm spelling out here. They would come, very excited, post some great content, hardly get any pay out, see that the posts getting upvoted and paid the most were C&S posts, and leave. This is a problem, wouldn't you agree?

As for posting crypto. Crypto content is obviously better than no content, however I think for the platform to really succeed everyone needs to feel welcomed with their content, and currently that isn't the case. The majority of the population isn't interested in C&S, and we're missing out on a lot of users because of this problem.

Thanks for bringing this to our attention @steemking777

Sadly, I believe it's being drowned out on the appropriate channels. Perhaps it's useless.

Economic Darwinism is the height of ignorance​ and arrogance!

Idk about all that. But I do know steem will not grow as it currently exists

wow no kidding, thanks for saying like it is... first off thank you for posting this, I have max upvoted it and resteemed and now following you. Here is my experience so far. I transferred about a grand $1000 over here 3-4 months ago and have spent considerable time creating posts of relatively somewhat valuable content, and tried to get discussions going but overall to no avail. If it wasn't for a few generous whales taking pity on a few of my postings they all would have flopped completely. My account is now worth about $800. That may be partially due to the drop in the price of Steem on the marketplace, so if it had stayed where it was I would probably be around breaking even at this point. What I am seeing is a platform where 3% of Steemit members are raking in 97% of the Steem. So instead of networking and trying to help new users I am desperately trying to not lose more account value. I wait for my favorite whales to post and max upvote as early as I can to try and generate "vests" or curation awards? I don't know exactly it is confusing - but I have stopped posting because it is frustrating to be ignored, especially when just attempting to get a discussion going about a coin or the overall crypto space or whatever - people are ignoring me because I am not a whale, and they also are trying to not lose account value, so to upvote my content would be a waste of money. On one of my posts regarding my children raising money for a kids with cancer, I received 100 upvotes and it sat at $5 for about a week, then I guess a few whales saw it, and the upvotes went from 100 to 103, and the post jumped to $23. I don't know, I have not given up entirely but I am powering down because after watching this thing and attempting to participate for 4 months, I am definitely seeing a Social Media platform that imo is not sustainable. When Jerry Banfield can do a post of how be brushes his teeth, and get $400, I call bullshit. And no disrespect to Jerry, his content is AMAZING but is it worth 20-30 thousand a month? When he is also raking it in on YouTube for the same posts, I mean, c'mon. Anyway I do hope Steem succeeds, it is quite addictive, but if I am experiencing frustration and feeling ignored, how can I expect my 800+ Facebook friends to transition over? No way. I don't see that happening. There need to be some fundamental changes to how value is distributed and some caps put on the amount whales can earn here. I mean nobody should be able to make more than $20 grand a month here, or be able to upvote their own posts up $300 bucks or whatever. Obviously I am foggy on the details of how the payouts are structured, but I know something needs to change or this house of cards will fall in on itself, so that is just my 2 cents worth, a random view from a new user. I am remaining active on Steemit but powering down my account to get what I can back out in case it does implode due to inequalities. But much luck to everyone here, I mean no disrespect to anyone, I have learned a great deal, and will stay here -a bit more of a passive user, as with 4 kids and a full time job I don't have the time required to create valuable content and fight through the long process of being basically ignored for the most part. So good night my Steemit friends and always remember this message from your friend @cryptoted

17201244_10212457068284627_8331463499905846173_n.jpg

You see everyone!? This is exactly what I'm talking about! And this happens all the time. @cryptoted made steem more valuable by purchasing on the market and was not rewarded for putting skin in the steem ecosystem. THIS WILL NOT LAST

That's a good point you have brought to our attention. I have voted more in the past month for those subjects myself. From now on, I will be looking other ways to help other people in health, photography, etc. Thank you. Upvoted, follow and re-steemit

Thank you! slow and steady I hope to change the ecosystem for the better!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63060.85
ETH 3455.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51