''Editing your Steemit Avatar'' Steemit Beginner Volume 1 : Upload & Adjust your personalized Steemit Profile PicturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

SteemitGUIDE1f829a.png

Editing your Steemit Avatar

Steemit allows it's Users to personalize their account via updates that were implemented several months ago, an individual is now allowed to customize their accounts by uploading their choice of images. I will go over the exact details on how you can set up your Steemit profile image


Step 1

Once you're signed in with your Steemit account, go to your Profile by (https://steemit.com/@typeyouraccountnamehere), or access it directly clicking on the top upper right corner

PublicprofileSettings6bf7c.png


Locate and click on the ''Settings'' tab and you'll end up on your ''Public Profile'' settings, this is where you can set all your personal information associated to your Steemit Account. In this Post, we will be only focusing on uploading and editing your Avatar

33a32e4.png

Step 2

Let's assume you've already have an image ready to be used, before you even decide of uploading it, you'll have to check if you have right sizing. Every Image comes in a certain size, so it's important that you get the optional Width X Height right so that you make the most out of your Avatar


Here is are some sizes, I would Recommend;

Width & Height
400 X 400
600 X 600
1000 X 1000

Seem's an even larger size will do, just make sure to use Square sized image or the image will auto-fit.
It's best to use a square-sized image because Steemit will autmotically process images that are more landscaped making them appear more stretched out

(Use a Site like Canva.com, a beginner friendly photo editing site)

Step 3

Decide what to upload and use a Image Hosting Service to upload it via Steemit. Steemit doesn't store any images in Steem's blockchain, because only text format is stored on Steem while Steemit uses third-party hosting services to host any images or videos.

This means that Steemit won't store your image via your account, however it will retrieve important data from your desired image hosting platform. It's up to you which service you want to use but i'll be using Steemimg by @blueorgy, my favourite image hosting service for Steemit

111a734d.png

All you need to do, is sign up for an account at Steemimg.com and upload your image directly. You can do this by simply dragging the file or manually locating it with a File Search

Once you uploaded your image, make sure to double click on the image to open up image the dashboard. There you can find all the available links, however you'll just need the ''Image URL'' Link for your Steemit Account

Copy & Paste the link into under the ''PROFILE PICTURE URL'' tab and allow Steemit a couple of seconds to retrieve image from the internet.
(Note, any changes must be updated via Account Setting, to initiate the update press on the ''Update'' Buttom which will appear at the buttom, whenever changes are made)

You can now pretty much decide what image you would like to upload as your Avatar/Profile Picture/Display Picture...

For me have all those terms slightly different meaning, so before decide what to upload you should get a better understanding of the difference between the 3 terms

Avatar is something, what I use on a website, where my nick is "Crypto-Gene" - my profile could be important and have valuable info, but it's not linked to my real name (like some community forum for example). I am expecting that avatar will not contain my actual face, but some movie star / abstract art / animation...

Profile picture is picture of my profile. When you decide to go with a profile picture, you should for instance expect to see a face on profile picture. It evokes that my profile is important part of website (Facebook, Twitter...) and most likely it's somehow linked with my real life (real name, personal informations...)

Display picture is like "hey, your profile is not important, but if somebody will ask, we will display this". My profile is not important at all, more important are data and there is only small chance that somebody will look for information on my profile page (OneDrive, DropBox...).

Avatar or Profile Photo or Display Picture


There is great debate when it comes to profile photos / avatars on social networks in terms of whether you should go with your brand logo or the face of a person. Many of us especially on Steemit tend to be small time writers who are unlikely associated with any brand, however our desire to recognized by the community leave many wondering on whether they promote themselves to the next extent

My usual thought is that if you are a big enough brand with a well-recognized logo, there is lot's of potential of earnings some Steem, so it's probably a good idea to establish yourself within the Community

If you’re building a personal brand or you are a public figure like a blogger, politician, musician, artist, etc., go with the personal picture. People are more likely to want to engage with a person than a brand logo, this applies on Steemit where information is decentralized however Users can stay anonymous.

Once you have selected your default photo, be sure to stick with the same picture as your default photo from one network to the next, that way people easily recognize you across all social networks

FollowME47b03.png

All Rewards will be set aside to help achieve my newly set Life Goal

Dedicated Young Steemian interested in getting Vested. My experience with Steemit has been more than life-changing, that I hope my Insight knowledge about Steemit will help you, because of STEEM i'm able to fund my Studies

U5dtLbGtpt4Cp8HbjWJdvcYPbnv6cHq_1680x8400f56cd.jpg

I will continue to write more Guides & Tutorials specifically about Steemit, it's my goal to make this a dedicated To-Go Account for those interesting the taking Steemit to the Next Level. This platform has got me writing away... overwhelmed with much of the Feedback that I have received so far, that's why i won't stop being active on this Platform!

I'll forever be grateful for Steemit, you have got yourself a future Investor, just want to say a Big Thank you, to all the Users here on this platform

At 541 Followers, i'm proud to say I have more real friends on Steemit than on any other Social Media Platform!

I never thought I would enjoy writing so much, so feel free to Follow me for More Content

😎

My next Mission is to work on a Steemit E-book, I will compile everything I know about Steemit. You can also show your Support by checking out my Facebook Group and go a head with giving me a plain old boring Facebook Like-www.facebook.com/steemster

Sort:  

Was looking for this.

Thanks this helps! I have been trying to upload an image with a facebook or instagram account but it will not work right.

5 minutes ago I couldn't upload my avatar. I read your post and now I can. Thanks so much, appreciate it! :)

Thank you for the post it was helpful, have a great day

A great piece of info. Thanks for sharing.

thanks for putting the details about the dimensions. I knew about how to link to the pic but it never would show. never occurred to me that it needed to be square. all the other posts i saw never mentioned the size. way to be somebody!

Great job haha looking to pull some friends in here. Trying to create an audience here follow is welcome

Got one here

Thank you !! Feel much more educated :-) & thus empowered!

💯 💯 WOWOWOW 👻 👏
You can use your --> Facebook photo as follow:
1- click on your facebook profile photo
2- right click with your mouse on it, then select --> Copy Image Address
3- Paste here in the PROFILE PICTURE URL box
And voila . . . your photo is here 💞 💞 💞 💞

The sizes , everything is here ! Help'd a lot thx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78