I care about the pennies!

in #steemit6 years ago

I often see some sort of comment or post about how no one cares about a 1 penny vote or even a few cents. I suppose I could see how some don’t really care but I do. It lets me know someone took the time to upvote and considered it worth while.I also power up most of my earnings so those pennies give me and those I upvote the power to make even more money. Those pennies add up after years and I am grateful for them.

I also remember starting about a year a go and there were a few of us who started at same time and we all had penny votes but now many of us have 20-30-50+ cents votes. I always try to upvote good comments and I often check to see who upvoted my post and go look at their work and upvote them even if its some 25 sp account. I tend to take interest in content I like/people I like and not based on the power of their account.

I see some who havent been here long sometimes express complaints about “my quality post gets no votes” and I think the part they are missing is it takes time to grow here and effort. It’s still a “social” network so being social and part of community even with those penny votes all help you grow. I took part in a DLIVE curation stream from @themarkymark and used the chat feature while stream was going on and gained a few followers. I happened to delegate some VP to @hashcash and he mentioned me a few times and that gained me a few followers. Some of those new followers upvotes me for pennies and some for more but they were all gained from social interaction not relying on someone to blindly see my posts in “New”.

So if you have a penny vote or even a multi penny vote, know I want it :)

Sort:  

Great post, it is amazing how those pennies add up. Warren Buffett started his empire by collecting jars of pennies as a young man... Added a paper route and just kept saving pennies.

My dear, if nobody else on this platform cares about those penny votes, I definitely do. Little drops of water make a mighty Ocean

Multi-penny vote checking in; $0.15 at full power. Way too tiny for my tastes, I was up to like $0.38 once and that felt at least decent. I'd like to get back up above a quarter again at least.

It's all mental though because of the price fluctuation. I have double the stake now that I did then, and I keep buying more.

It’s still a “social” network so being social and part of community even with those penny votes all help you grow.

I think a lot of the problem is that people see this as a blogging platform with monetisation and a social twist. They've got the order mixed up. It's a social platform with blogging and a monetary twist. If you get those things all in the right order you'll do just fine around here:

  • You'll make more friends, which is what this place is about.
  • You'll be more excited to see the smaller upvotes.
  • You'll actually root for the STEEM price to drop so you can buy more.

I actually celebrate when it gets cheaper. Steem the platform is not going anywhere anytime soon, and there is a limited amount of stake to be had. There is not enough STEEM-- and there will not be, for a long time-- for even one million users to have a slider on the Steemit interface. Facebook has well over one billion daily active users. Do the freaking math. ^_^

I care that much about the pennies that I even make use of @dustsweeper.

[Dustsweeper info here]

When I started out I was grateful for every penny (I still am) that came my way. Today those pennies are gathering up little by little

Every drop of water helps in filling up a pot .So if it is even a penny vote or a big 1 dollar vote everything matters.Cause all this small pennies toghther can make you big.

This is a great post. I have seen people openly saying they dont want cents as vote while many of them dont even have subtantial SP. Its good to have read this post.

I guess it starts with pennies for all of us but I guess the potential for those teeny bits of cents to turn into dollars is only realized for those who are willing to stick to their guns no matter the price and condition of steem.

ew of us who started at same time and we all had penny votes but now many of us have 20-30-50+ cents votes.

Redfishes like me tend to search for hope wherever they can find and this line gave me plenty of it.

PS: Thanks for mentioning me :-)

Pennies do add up. It's also the basis of crowdfunding - that small amounts from enough people get the desired result.

Really? I've never read anything like that yet. But I'm also grateful for the pennies :) Here's mine for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78