Buying Steem With A Debit or Credit Card?

in #steemit8 years ago

Buying Steem with Bitcoin, or Ethereum Is cool. But, I think that In order make it easier for the "Masses", Steemit should impliment buying Steem with a Debit, or Credit card. Don't get me wrong, I love Bitcoin. It is this generations version of Gold. (But with a borderless nature, and a hard limit of only 21 million.) And ETH, with it's smart contracts, and distributed platform. (Though ETC might give it a run for its ethers:) But let's be honest with ourselves. The world Is nowhere near understanding what these cryptocurrencies are, or their potential. (Though they are paying more attention) So we need an easier barrier of entry. Debit cards, or Credit cards, are what the "Masses" know, and use on a daily basis. Granted, the Steemit platform Is still In beta, I think that this should be Implemented ASAP! Especially If you want people to start using Blockchain technology, without them having to learn the In's and outs of the system. By using Debit or Credit cards, It will also make payment from the Blockchain easier. Instead of using a trading platform to convert your steem to BTC, then to dollars, Steemit would just send your payment straight to your Card, which could actually be linked to your Bank Account. Easy right!?? Maybe this Is In the works as I speak. But I think having that added option would definitely be a plus! It would definitely be cool If we could use those same cards to buy Steem Power:) (But lets not get too ahead of ouselves) Just a thought-

Sort:  

I think you have a great idea! There should be some form of Credit Card purchase of Steem option.
Here's the thing: I live outside the USA and cryptocurrency exchanges are not always willing to work with 3rd world countries and their inefficient banking systems. In fact, I know MANY people that are trying to get in to Crypto trading, but the barriers of entry are ridiculous.

So YES! Please add credit cards. If not through Steemit, then through some exchange.

I totally agree with this post. When I try to purchase bitcoin, sometimes my bank flags it as suspicious (especially if I'm doing other online shopping that day) and freezes my debit account. This would streamline the process.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.7 and reading ease of 81%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41