Need upvotes for your posts? Know when to publish it!

in #steemit6 years ago

"How do I get more views and upvotes for my posts ?"

I guess that's a question every new member on steemit asks! Well aside from the fact that you should create something useful that the community approves and likes it, you should pay a real attention to the timing !! yeap, you heard right, the "When you post" is an important thing here!

time-management1.jpg

Why I'm doing this !

Well, I'm one of the new members here on steemit and, like any other new member, I started by understanding how steemit works, I got that part and I started posting, my first post was normal just an introduction, I got some views and some upvotes but the second one was a disaster, I thought no one likes it though it was about blockchain and it was super easy to understand but after 4 days I noticed that no one ever seen my post, aside from my own views (yeap, steemit count every view even you did it more than once, every time you enter the page of your post you got +1 view!), there was no other views! So I started my search for the "Why"?

What did I do ?

I'm a developer so I thought may be I can use my skills to know why no one seen my post, so I developed a little script that scanned 1454 trending posts from last week (piratically all of them) and the result is the number and the time of the creation of the posts!

I’m going to continue improving the script and maybe adding a post every week to give a report about the week before it so you can get an idea about the most suitable time for publishing a post!

Soo the results ??

To start this, just note that the time zone used in this post is UTC/GMT+1 or EST+6 [The time in my country], you can comment by your time zone if you want me to change it in my next report!

Here you go :

Screenshot-2018-2-25 Live Chart Editor.png

So this graph show us the number of trending post in each day of the last week and as expected the weekend alongside with Friday are the days where posts get a lot of views and upvotes and became trending post!

So go for those days!!

Let’s go further!

After knowing this, I knew my fault and I realised why I didn’t get any upvote! I did publish my post with a few followers in a time that no one is there to see it! But I'm still curious and I modified my script to get those number from earlier by hours and days not only by days.

These are the graphs from Friday, Saturday and Sunday:

Screenshot_20180303_161622.png

Screenshot_20180303_084936.png

Screenshot_20180303_151339.png

Friday is easy, upvotes get more intense in the evening ! And as you can see in Saturday, the posts get more upvoted and views in the end of the days comparing the start of the day, and for Sunday, the end of the day seems a little empty!

So!

Guess you get it, if you wanna publish a post, publish it in one of those days: Friday, Saturday and Sunday, choose you’re time carefully and pay a good attention to you’re contents! Many Steemians post on those times so you really want to be selective to get upvotes but at least you can be sure that there is people watching you!! (that’s not supposed to be creepy right!) and as an advice, choose a good title and a good first image cause they are the front of your post! make other steemians want to read your post.

Well hope you liked this post, let me know if you want other stats about steemit that may help you grow some incomes, I'll be happy to help! Don’t forget to upvote and may be follow me!! and I'm probably going to publish a report like this (or better depending on your requests) every week so be tuned !!

Ah and one last thing, I'm preparing a little surprise and I need as much steemians as I can get to show it to you! Well it’s still in developing and it may take some time to be ready but I think it’s worth it and I really hope that you likes it!
Sort:  

Congratulations @steemious! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @steemious! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52