12-Hour Voting: a Powerful Steemit Instument

in #steemit8 years ago

They say that the idea was to let more posts to the trending page, but basically that has led to still growing number of new posts, upvotes and follows.

When we had that 24-hour system in our white-blue world my daily goal was to submit one post a day. That was pretty comfortable for me personally as I spent some time on writing some good story and then simply looked at the results throughout the day. The interesting thing was that theoreticaly my post was working throughou the day and gave me the final result only the next day.

The system was a bit lazy but still very good for a steemer living quite an ordinary life with daily routine sleeping 6 hours a day and being buzy for the other 18 hours. Still you know, I am really thankful to the "creators" as the new reform made me pay more attention to the time of publishing, to my potential audience and their interests, to what I write about and when. Moreover, I want to submit at least two posts every day to cover the whole Steemit audience and to share my thoughts with them.

The new system is much more complicated and makes me take into consideration much more factors than I used to take which led to a number of failures when submitting some of my previous posts. This demands deep analysis and a numper of trials to estimate the audience, understand its behaviour and find the best time for each subject. That information is extremely precious, this is the forbidden fruit of Steemit that can be picked only if you are curious and hard-working enough.

Luck is also a very important factor though one successful post can hardly satisfy a person eager for finding a formula and solving the puzzle.

I must say that anyway the reform is great. More posts to be published, motivation boost, more topics to be discussed widely and the growing amount of money circulating in the system and feeding every its citizen. A welfare state, isn't it?

The topic is open for discussion, what do you think about the new system and how did it influence your work?

Sort:  

Another big problem with the 12hour/30day system is that some posts get a lot of votes shortly after the 12 hour payout is up. This leads to them getting stuck at the top of the trending page for the next 30 days. Just look at the cheetahbot thread for instance. It's taking a spot that new and exciting content could be in. This will only get worse over time as people learn to game the system.

I'm still pretty new on here and I've only made one post that made about .20$. I've made more money upvoting and replying. I plan on trying to figure out the system a little better and posting more. It seems like you have to get in at the right time, or you miss the opportunity for someone to see it or to vote ahead of everyone else. Im just going to keep doing what I'm doing and see where it goes.

Quote "precious, this is the forbidden fruit of Steemit" This resonated with me. I'm still very new, but I realize this knowledge can give you a competitive edge. I just try to keep improving every day. A little correction here, and experiment there, it all adds up. Great write up! upvoted

I don't know what happened I used to get $100 to $200 bucks for some posts now I only get .30 cents to $1 if I am lucky. Are people getting tired of using it already? What is going on :(.

Yeah, I notice the same trend and that is disappointing. So I am trying to solve the puzzle and to understand what is basically wrong

Please keep us informed on your finding's. Maybe new Steemers don't realize the exchange doesn't really take away from their earnings? Or maybe the run up in price caused some to horde it. To valuable to vote with, unless they know there's a return in it ?

This is great. Have you also noticed the increase in bot activity since this update. Our friend Isaac in the comments here downvoted almost every other post within a couple mins for the past couple of days. Very frustrating, i've yet to have a whale worthy post in the two weeks i've been here. Not sure if it's my style or the downvoter, pushing my posts to the bottom. Blessed be

I know a lot of people will now write two posts a day, one in each 12 hour period.

The point of the 12 hour period is to split up the revenue better, and give more variety to the posts that are getting paid for the trending page.

For me, I enjoy it. Now I have 200% more opportunities to craft a post and earn less than $5 for it. Heheh (I'm in a sadist mood at the moment)

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 10.4 and reading ease of 65%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45