How to Use the Pixar Story Telling Model to Write Your Next Steemit Post

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Every good story teller has a secret! That's the ingredient that makes his story a masterpiece. Let's make a short analysis of Austin Madison's secret.

But wait...

Who is Austin Madison?

It's a guy involved in the making of Pixar's Toy Story 3, Brave, WALL-E, Up and others. He is an animator and a story artist. Once he presented a model that all Pixar movies follow nowadays. The model consists of 7 steps. The ultimate goal is to involve the audience into a hero's journey.

So here they are:

Madison's 7 Steps Process to Tell a Story on Steemit or Anywhere Else

Step1. Once there was a _____.
Step 2. Every day he _____.
Step 3. Until one day _____.
Step 4. Because of that _____.
Step 5. Because of that _____. (Used to introduce some extra information)
Step 6. Until finally _____.
Step 7 Ever since then _____.

See how easy it is?

Let me show you few examples.

Example 1

It was at the end of December 2016, some months before I found out what Steemit is, I was at home scrolling down my Facebook wall.

As usual, I was doing nothing but celebrating Christmas.

Suddenly, I came across a documentary movie (Bulgarian language only) telling a story of a man who's involved in the recycling business. As I understood, he was taking care of many people who came to him asking for food, shelter and work. The guy just couldn't say 'No' to anyone and they were living as a big family, sharing the food and working everyday at the landfill.

I was deeply impressed, because of everything I learned and soon after that I started Googling his name and discovering more articles about what he's doing. I asked myself if I could only help him somehow. I'm good at eCommerce (my main source of income). What if I teach some of the boys how to sell online? However, the daily routine and the need to take care of my business was pushing me to the wall and I couldn't do nothing but think occasionally about the amazing story I learned.

Until one day when I came upon Steemit. After signing up I started browsing through various publications, following people and gaining know how. Few days after I realized the big potential of the platform and soon after I finally had my Aha moment - I recalled the story about the man taking care of people in that town in the central part of Bulgaria. Why not finally get in touch with him, present him Steemit and help him in telling his story on the platform?

Yes, I ended up calling him. He was happy that someone decided to offer him and his extended family some real help. He was a bit surprised when I told him that I was looking for a suitable moment to get in touch with him for the last 7 months.

NB! Some of you may ask how I got his number. Well guys, at the end of the documentary about him, he shared his phone. Fortunately, he didn't change his number and voilà I was able to contact him.

I had to travel to the sea shore and it considered this a great opportunity to meat with him live on my way to the sea. Soon after we met. I could see where he and other people live, what they do and learned what plan he was going to implement until the end of thisyear. Then I had a chance to introduce him Steemit and explain what kind of opportunity extraordinary people like him are provided with. I told him that because of all the things he has made over the last 25 years he's now able to tell his story and this would help him get a small funding for the mobile houses he is planning to build for his boys.

And here we are, 10 days later or July 9 (just 2 days ago), Hristo Atanasov and his story are live on Steemit.

Since that moment, I'm investing a certain part of my time to promote his story and I’m planning other initiatives to help him build the mobile houses. I've also launched Steemfluencer Club which is a friendly newsletter sent occasionally to present stories like Hristo's one.

Example 2 (a shorter one, much more simple)

I grew up in a small town near the sea shore. When I was in my 20s, I decided that I need to make a braver move and moved to a big city. I did it and even graduated from the capital university.

Everyday I was dreaming about being able to launch my own business, while working in a company as an employee (the 9-5 mode we all know).

One day I met a friend who introduced me to another man who was developing an eCommerce business from his home. That man just mentioned the main principles he was following.

Because of that I decided to find my own niche and start selling immediately. Next morning I already listed a few items on eBay and started looking for various suitable items to sell.

A few days later I logged in my profile and saw my first sale!

Ever since then, I became really serious about that type of business and started investing 6 to 8 hours per day in the business listing items, fulfilling orders and answering customer questions.

~THE END ~

Easy, isn't it? Now you can already build your own story. Make it more complicated and appealing.

What can you do now?

1). If you are ready for a challenge then try writing a few sentence story following the described steps above and share it in the comments or even better: just write a new Steemit post, get back here and drop the link :)

2). Feel free to further educate yourself and read An Established Writer's 'Secrets' on Becoming a Dolphin in No Time - a post I wrote 2 weeks ago.

3). Follow me (only if you find my content useful), leave me a comment if you agree and especially if you disagree with me.

BONUS STEP
Join the Steemfluencer Club newsletter to get few updates per month (most likely one or two) about new Steemit stars who have recently joined the community and who live an epic live that most of us don't have the guts to have.

Cover image was designed on Canva.com

Sort:  

I'll admit that I've heard for the Pixar story telling model before.

My reaction typically was "Oh... yeah... its just another formulaic 'do it my way'" model.

However seeing you explain it well and demonstrate it even better, I have to concede that there is something to this. It is nice that you tied it in with steemit directly.

Thank you @steemfluencer!

Yes, I'm planning to use it more and more. It's obvious that Austin Madison knows what he is doing. Pixar has earned more than 8 BLN since the day they've launched the company.

If you'd like to go deeper, you could find the following presentation useful:
http://www.businessinsider.com/pixars-rules-for-storytelling-2014-10

I try this out and see if it really work since I really love writing XD Great post.

It just works. There are other models as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65988.06
ETH 3414.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67