A Serious Number of Reasons Not To Be On Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Believe it or not, reasons not to be on Steemit also exist.

In doubt if you should invest time on Steemit? See my reasons not to be on Steemit.

Lack of privacy

If you are using a personal profile, everything you share remains part of the STEEM blockchain. The only tweak I'm aware of is for the YouTube guys being able to hide videos from their YouTube profile. For example this is how @vachemorte organized the World premiere of THE JUJU GUM CONSPIRACY on Steemit.

A lot of SPAM

If you are active you'll end up seeing posts with spam comments. If this post takes off a bit just check the comments below and look for examples like: I liked your post. Please follow me and read my blog @xyzidontknowhownottobeaspammer or Cool! Keep up with the good work!. Not to mention that you'll be tempted to become a spammer yourself, at least for a while (ok, not in such an obvious way, but still). It's because of the way your brain works and the way the platform is organized.

The lack of high quality content

High quality content do exist on Steemit, however there are scenarios that can lead to a personal feed full of poor content posts. Also, not everyone has the same understanding of what a high quality content is. Heck, even this post could be considered as a low quality post. I guess it has about 50 grammatical mistakes, but when the inspiration hit me, I preferred to finish it as quickly as possible instead of submitting it in the queue. (if you are curious enough what the queue is ask :)).

Frustration

You might think that the platform will reward you for being honest or being yourself, or for posting regularly: none of these are true for the majority of users here. What could help though is how you spend your time outside Steemit: are you putting efforts to find your own voice and how do you transmit your ideas into words.

Life itself

Sometimes people just don't need to share anything. If you feel you are living a complete life, why would you spend time on something that you even don't fully understand. I often dream for a life without social media. My neck hurts because I behave like a zombie in the public transport staring at my phone once every 30 seconds..

So, these are my most significant reasons for someone not to be on Steemit.

Do you have another reason not to be on Steemit you'd be happy to share as a comment? Please go ahead. I'll be around, checking for your opinions every 30 seconds, but not before I enjoy a tasty dinner "._."

Yours,
@steemfluencer

Sort:  

Indeed, and very true.

And sometimes people just don't need to share what they choose to share. Because it's just not very interesting to see the various stages of someone's meatball sandwich they had for lunch. Which, I guess, I fit under the broader heading of "too mundane."

But then again... I'm "an arrogant intellectual," according to some...

That's hilarious @denmarkguy :D

In general it feels good not to feel need to share every single moment of your life.

I have all together passed up on social media. The one exception of course being Steemit. They do not utilize the psychological trickery that the likes of Facebook and others use. They just use the carrot philosophy, allowing rewards of their own currency.

All in all I would suggest that the world would be a better place, if all social media was abandoned. That being said I would miss the ability to connect to those far away on a shared platform.

Thoughtful post.

All in all I would suggest that the world would be a better place, if all social media was abandoned.

Sooner or later we'll all reach the same conclusion. I'm now considering a material devoted on the ZRPT metric. Have you heard of it? It stands for Zombies Rate at Public Transport - zombies staring at their smartphones while travelling are increasing day after day in my city. For now, they are not causing any issues, but each day I feel guiltier for not doing anything to stop that virus spreading all over the country. In the beginning it was only damaging teenagers, however now I see people in their 40s, 50s, 60s and sometimes 70s.

I like your approach!

Another reason to not join... because almost half the posts (or even more) are about steem or the blockchain or cryptocurrency. And that topic is, well , let's say not for everyone.

Also... the posts about posts about posts.

Well, curation posts could be beneficial of done the right way. As for the crypto posts, it's a real torture indeed, especially if you are not involved in any way..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50