STEEMIT: Stop Using Steemit Like Facebook! Upvotes are NOT the same as Likes here!

in #steemit6 years ago

Hands up Guilty as charged!!!


I have been handing out "likes"or, more correctly "upvotes" like Candy Sprinkles. Thinking I have a never ending bathtub full of them. Just like you do on Facebook. I thought this was a GREAT thing to do. So much so that I think I ran out of Bandwidth. A good thing I learnt this lesson early which is why I am blogging about it now.

Apparently, the more reading I do, this is NOT such a great idea.

What have I done that is wrong?

Some one puts a dodgy comment on my page = like
See some cool posts = like like like like
end of a comment stream = like

WRONG!

  1. We have so few "quality" upvotes to use a day
  2. They are supposed to be used to reward real effort and usefulness or extreme beauty and creativity. Or, in the case of comments, the significant, funny or helpful comments. Or comments from people that you find are really connecting you to the topic.
  3. Every time you upvote you loose some of your power. Go to https://steemd.com and search your username (mine would be @steemedge). It shows your Steem Power and Bandwidth.

When you are new you upvote something and you give them so little... what does it matter if you give them nothing? it's still and "upvote". Right?

WRONG!

You are wasting the communities Steem Power on something that is worthless. Or at least not worth as much as you give.

save your vote for a great post or comment. Encourage people to write great content and put effort it. If they get a like "just for posting any old shit" they will continue to post "any old shit".

sure putting a thoughtless like on a page might get you a thoughtless follow but what is the value in that except for yourself.

Instead, engage, comment and follow. Create connections and great content. UPVOTE the great content. Or at least the USEFUL content. The person that goes out of the way to write a nice comment that is not "just fishing" for a like.

and NO you DO NOT have to "upvote" every comment on your blog and other people's blogs. Especially when all they have said is "thanks, Cool Post."

HERE ENDETH MY MINI LESSON FOR NEWBIES....

AM I RIGHT OR AM I WRONG?

Is THIS post "just any old shite? " I don't know that is up to you to decide....

and please feel free to comment if you have more to say, this is my experiences as a newbie on this fine platform.

Needless to say i will be making sure my upvotes are going to interesting, engaging people who are doing, or at least trying to do great things :-)

thats all folks... at least until i find the next thing i do wrong.... lol.... because i'm sure there are TONS of them. Perhaps using a jar of sprinkles from my kitchen is bad!!! lol... Although i DO wish i had enough to fill a bathtub to make a cook photo for you all.... but alas.... i'm unable to do that. cries

Sarah

Sort:  

Good to know thanks... I'm new to this and I had no idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65