SICK OF PLAGIARISTS

in #steemit6 years ago

DONT-POST-IT.jpg

Steemit is a great place to be and I'm happy to be a part of it, BUT there is a cancer growing alarmingly fast. This cancer is hurting everyone that spends there time and effort to make a quality post. I know this is nothing new. I am not saying anything that you don't already know. I am just venting my frustration into the community. SOMETIMES YOU JUST NEED TO VENT. I have high hopes for what I hope to do here on steemit, but honestly I get frustrated by the fact that those that are just posting over and over again things that they did not create are diluting the water so much, that there are too many original posts that will never be seen, never receive an upvote, in essence, never have been worth sharing. I'm concerned that too many people will see the situation for what it really is and leave out of frustration. This rotten aspect of the community has the potential to kill this platform. We are already overrun with this garbage.

I was disappointed at the recent post made by the makers of the community. It really didn't seem like this was on the radar of concerns. We need real solutions. Down voting isn't working. We need a system where someone who is caught plagiarizing repeatedly has their account shut down. I am still new here and I acknowledge that there is a lot that I still don't know here on steemit. So if there are solutions in the works, please tell me about them in the comments below. Please share your ideas on how this could be better monitored. I realize there are some blacklists, but how effective are they really?

I keep telling myself that this will be resolved. I have hope that it will be. Honestly, this is not what this community is supposed to be about. How will we wade through the mess when it get's far worse than it already is?

Sort:  

There's a Libertarian mindset at the core of the membership of this social media that we are all going up against when we voice our concerns about this kind of stuff. The Libertarian "solution" to problems is to just let it work itself out over time. The market provides enough incentive without human interference in the form of "government", it is thought. That may be the case, but is sure as hell takes a lot longer for aberrant behavior to lose appeal when you just let "nature take its course", so to speak. This is why I am not a dogmatic Libertarian and tend to lean more toward the Progressive side of things because Progressives recognize human nature for what it is and are also willing to use some sort of "force" to keep people in line, and that's exactly what we are talking about when we are calling for removal of an account. That's basically a police action, when you get right down to it, kind of like putting someone in jail so they can't continue to harm anybody. I for one prefer to use some force along the way to increase the integrity of the platform because that turns into real dollars and cents with regard to how many investors are going to be willing to invest in Steem which in turn affects the price of Steem and how much I'm going to get out of being here.

Other than the social benefit I get from being here, which up to this point is still less than I get spending my time on Facebook because I have FB friends who are actually interested in the same things I'm interested in, I wonder if my time wouldn't be better spent just delivering pizza on the side and investing that money into Steem. I'm not sure at this point which would pay off better in the end.

Thanks for sharing @kirbyhopper! I totally get what your saying and like a lot of what you've said, but disagree on one point. From the Libertarian stand point, it could work itself out IF and that is one big IF the steemians large and small had some power or muscle. On steemit the minnows have near 0 influence. In the real world libertarians do have influence. This platform ties the hands of the people that are supposed to be the driving force of the platform. I don't want there to be a police force type action as you mention. Rather it should simply be a flagging system. Every steemian should have the right to flag a post for plagiarism. That should effect no change if only flagged by 1 or 2 people (possibly maliciously), but if a number of(3, 5?) total flags are given from individual users and sources of the original work shown, then they should receive a consequence.

While libertarians do strive to live and let live and want as few restrictions as possible, we are not anarchists. Protection of basic rights are still valued. Libertarians do believe in the rule of law. I'm just talking about giving power to all steemians. Right now we have concentrated power, and that is a recipe for neglect and abuse of the majority.

We might look at the current problem as theft. These plagiarists are stealing from the community funds. As a collective group of steemit citizens we have the right to protect ourselves and each other from theft.

Yes, agreed. I've thought about whether just flagging would work and you've explained very well why it wouldn't. To put another way, certain people have been able to buy themselves into plagiarizing with impunity, and I know some are afraid of speaking out for fear of getting into a flag war and damaged even more than just the reward pool getting raped and losing their miniscule piece of that pie. This is a systemic problem and the powers that be need to be willing to change the system, and in my mind Libertarian ideology is working counter to that. Maybe not your Libertarian ideology, everyone understands it differently, after all, but the aggregate of many people's Libertarian bent, starting with the founders.

I think a yellow card warning should be issued after the first offence then if unheeded, the next card is a red one and the poster gets all of their SP bar 15 SP , locked for 48 hours or 1 week. This will make them reconsider their plagiarising. It's worth a shot imo.

I agree. The current system is broken. No one wants to use their steem power to downvote someone. There must be some sort of flagging option like you mentioned. When I first joined steemit, it was because I was excited about what I had read. I had read that steemit was a place that encouraged high quality content and that the users of steemit promoted high quality content. Sadly this is not the case at all. I really do like your idea about locking for a week. It just has to be some sort of punishment to discourage this type of behavior. Namely they need to cut their ability to earn. I thank you for your post @anglotrucker and would appreciate a Resteem if you can.

Consider it done! No problem at all. Resteemed. Yes, I think locking someone's voting power down for one week could be a justifiable punishment. It would stop them abusing the system for a week and taking rewards which they don't deserve.

Very much appreciated! I am sure there are many more who feel as we do. We just need the masses who feel this way to keep voicing the matter. The only way we are going to make change is if we become a thorn in the sides of the powers that be until they do something about it.

I couldn't agree more! Hopefully a Dolphin or two will join the fight and help clean this place up. We live in hope.

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Release the Kraken! You got a 1.40% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @steemation!

You got a 1.72% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @steemation!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Congratulations @steemation! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @steemation! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64